Oh My Potluck!

Good recipes to share with friends.

Meatloaf, Myself and I

meatloafMeatloaves are ridiculously easy to make and sorely lacking at most potlucks I’ve been to. I’d never rectified this, but feel like the tide may turn in short order.

Making this dish piqued my interest in other one-dish recipes that would suit potlucks. I’ve done lots of casseroles and some salads that could be considered one-dish. I think I’ll have to pull out some of my “happy homemaking” era cookbooks, which seem to specialize in such recipes, and try some of their recommendations.

meatloaf_01_01

Looking at these cookbooks reveals how much I complicate recipes, and how much more accessible ingredients are nowadays than several decades ago. I love trying out a few different spices and vegetables in recipes, making the list of ingredients grow quite long in some cases. There’s something to be said for simplicity; I tried my best with this meatloaf not to go too overboard.

meatloaf_02_01

meatloaf_03

For the music today, I’m not going to choose a song explicitly titled “Me Myself and I” (although there are a few hip hop and R&B songs with that title). Instead, I’m picking out a song by hip-hop badass Erykah Badu called “Love of My Life (An Ode To Hip Hop)” because she has mad style, references a lot of other artists and still manages to keep it simple.

It’s good meatloaf making music, so let’s get started.

Meatloaf, Myself and I

Good for an eight-person potluck.
(inspired by Nita Holleman)

Loaf:

  • 1 tablespoon butter
  • 1 small sweet yellow onion, finely chopped
  • 1 rib of celery, finely chopped
  • 1 1⁄2 pounds (680 grams) lean ground beef
  • 2 cups dry bread crumbs
  • 1 egg
  • 1 teaspoon table salt
  • 1⁄4 teaspoon black pepper
  • 1/4 cup ketchup
  • 1/4 cup flat-leaf parsley, minced
  • 2-4 cloves of garlic, minced
  • 1⁄4 cup half-and-half, plus more as needed

Sauce:

  • 1⁄2 cup ketchup
  • 1/4 cup apple cider vinegar
  • 2-4 tablespoons dark brown sugar, packed firm (to taste)
  1. Preheat oven to 350˚F (175˚C). Spray a 9×13-inch loaf pan with non-stick cooking spray.
  2. In a medium-sized saucepan, melt the butter over medium-high heat. Sauté the onion and celery until soft and slightly browned. In a large bowl, combine the fried onions and celery with the rest of the loaf ingredients. Mix until well combined. Spoon the mixture into the loaf pan and press it in firmly.
  3. Mix the ketchup, vinegar and brown sugar. Pour the sauce over the meatloaf.
  4. Bake for 90 minutes. Cool slightly, then transfer to a coverable serving dish so you can transport it to the potluck.

meatloaf_02

2 comments on “Meatloaf, Myself and I

  1. kimberlyannglover
    February 21, 2016

    This looks simple and yummy. I’m going to give it a try. Thanks for posting!

    • kahht
      February 21, 2016

      It is! I’d love to hear what you think of it.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 20, 2016 by in Main Dish and tagged , , , , .

Popular Recipes

Enter your email address to get the latest recipes delivered fresh to your inbox.

Connect with me!

