Oh My Potluck!

Good recipes to share with friends.

Don’t Harsh my Marshmallow Squares

butterscotchsquaresEvery time I make a batch of these peanuty, butterscotchy, marshmallowy squares, I wonder why I don’t do it all the time. They are, by far, one of the easiest sweets to pull off and really tasty as well.

buttersquares_1

I remember when I first discovered this dessert at a little café at my university. I became addicted to them. It took me a while to realize that I could easily afford to make these with my university-student budget. A few stomach aches later I learned I should save these squares for special occasions.

buttersquares_2

In the last few years, I managed to almost completely forget about butterscotch marshmallow squares. Then, I was looking for a good gluten-free dessert and look what showed up!

buttersquares_3

While we’re on the topic of marshmallows, and since it’s winter, what song could be more appropriate than “It’s A Marshmallow World”? Also, since I love both math and physics, this is a version by a band called Math And Physics Club. Enjoy:

“Marshmallow World” reminds me of a gift package I saw in a store that came with a bag of mini marshmallows labeled “snowman poop”. I thought it was pretty clever, or at least a clever way to overcharge for a small bag of marshmallows.

buttersquares_4

Now, get the thought of snowman excrement out of your head and get cooking: 

Don’t Harsh my Marshmallow Squares

Makes 16 squares.

(Borrowed from Dinner With Julie)

  • ½ cup butter
  • 1 cup smooth peanut butter
  • 1 bag (300 grams) butterscotch chips
  • 3-4 cups coloured marshmallows
  1. In a medium saucepan, melt the butter, peanut butter and butterscotch chips together. Stir until smooth. Remove from heat and let cool.
  2. Combine the sauce and marshmallows, stir to coat. Pour into a lined 8-inch by 8-inch baking pan. Refrigerate until set. Cut into squares and put on a nice plate before bringing to the potluck.

buttersquares_1_01

buttersquares_5

2 comments on “Don’t Harsh my Marshmallow Squares

  1. potlucktam
    December 20, 2015

    Yum!! Now I want some.

    • kahht
      December 20, 2015

      Do it! They’re so easy!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on December 19, 2015 by in Bars, Quick And Easy, Sweets and tagged , , , , , , .

Popular Recipes

Enter your email address to get the latest recipes delivered fresh to your inbox.

Connect with me!

