Oh My Potluck!

Good recipes to share with friends.

Peachy Keen Peaches and Biscuits

Peachy Keen Peaches and Biscuits | OhMyPotluck.comFresh fruit season is my favourite season. I love the farmer’s market with its crates of locally grown and colourful fruit. Taking that first bite into a juicy, sweet gem is a simple and unbeatable luxury.

Peaches were filling the aisles this week and I’m loading up my basket with them. However, they’re such a tender fruit, and I’ve bruised my fair share. Filling up my basket usually means carefully propping them to one side and ensuring all other groceries steer clear. All the care and precautions are well worth it for the enjoyment I’ll get later.

Peachy Keen Peaches and Biscuits | OhMyPotluck.com

Peachy Keen Peaches and Biscuits | OhMyPotluck.com

For this recipe, I had initially wanted to make a peach cobbler, but began getting side tracked thinking about buttermilk biscuits, and couldn’t resist trying something more biscuit than cobble. Oh my goodness, am I glad I did. These are honestly the best biscuits I have EVER had. I got the inspiration from Alton Brown, but added some sugar to make them better for desert.

Peachy Keen Peaches and Biscuits | OhMyPotluck.com

Peachy Keen Peaches and Biscuits | OhMyPotluck.com

Because peaches, and peaches and biscuits, are especially Southern, I picked out a couple of Georgian artists, both from Athens. The first is Thayer Sarrano, who’s a talented artist both musically and visually. She didn’t grow up in Athens. She’s from a small town, where I hope she enjoyed many Georgia peaches, but I don’t know. Check out her song, “Jump In the Water”.

The other song holds a special significance for me. On the very first mp3 player I was given there were two songs, and this track, “My Sweet Annette” by the Drive-By Truckers was one of them. Maybe it’s because of this early exposure to the band that I’ve always especially enjoyed their style of folk-rock. As an added bonus for today, I think it goes great with peaches.

Now onto the recipe!

Peachy Keen Peaches and Biscuits | OhMyPotluck.com

Peachy Keen Peaches and Biscuits

Makes about a dozen full desert servings, good for a 3 dozen person potluck.

Filling:

  • 8 fresh peaches – peeled, pitted and sliced into thin wedges
  • 1/2 cup dark brown sugar
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/8 teaspoon ground nutmeg
  • 1 teaspoon fresh lemon juice
  • 2 teaspoons cornstarch

Topping:

  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup white sugar
  • 1 tablespoon baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 3/4 teaspoon salt
  • 4-6 tablespoons unsalted butter, chilled and cut into small pieces
  • 1 cup buttermilk, chilled
  • 3 tablespoons coarse sugar
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  1. Preheat oven to 375˚F (190˚C).
  2. In a large bowl, combine peaches, brown sugar, cinnamon, nutmeg, lemon juice, and cornstarch. Toss to coat evenly, and pour into a 2 quart baking dish. Bake in preheated oven for 10 minutes.
  3. To make the topping, in a large bowl, combine flour, white sugar, baking powder, baking soda and salt. Cut in the butter until mixture looks like crumbs. Make a well in the centre and pour in the buttermilk. Stir just until the dough comes together. Turn the dough onto a floured surface. Dust the dough with flour and fold the dough over itself about six times.
  4. Remove peaches from oven, and drop spoonfuls of topping over them. Sprinkle entire cobbler with the sugar and cinnamon mixture. Bake until topping is golden, about 30 minutes.
  5. Remove from oven and allow to cool (but not too much). Cover with a lid or dish towel to take to the potluck.

Peachy Keen Peaches and Biscuits | OhMyPotluck.com

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 8, 2015 by in Dessert and tagged , , , , , , .

Popular Recipes

Enter your email address to get the latest recipes delivered fresh to your inbox.

Connect with me!

