Oh My Potluck!

Good recipes to share with friends.

The Keylimeade To My Lavender Heart

The Keylimeade to my Lavender HeartLemonade, the ultimate beverage of summertime, but I’m going to twist it up: key limes and lavender. The subtle floral tones taste just right alongside the tartness of the limes. On hot days, a cool glass of lavender keylimade is just what you need.

The heat has been intense here in Calgary the past day or two, leaving me unwilling to turn on the oven and forcing me to keep the windows covered to block out the sun’s heat. Ice is mandatory in all drinks and most meals consist of cold salads. If I owned a BBQ, there’d be some of that.

The Keylimeade to my Lavender Heart

I shouldn’t complain too much. Living in a landlocked, northern city does mean that temperatures don’t get too crazy (except for winter cold snaps that can go down to -40˚). Plus, without a major body of water, humidity is low. This means the heat is dry, which I prefer to the feeling of drowning on land.

The Keylimeade to my Lavender Heart

Unfortunately, the climate in Calgary doesn’t lend itself to growing citrus plants (although I do know a couple of people with lemon and orange trees), so my limes are imported from Florida, but maybe you are lucky enough to be able to pick your own fresh fruits to squeeze into your drink.

The Keylimeade to my Lavender Heart

Once you’ve got the ingredients ready, give your drink a twirl while listening to “Twirl” by Craft Spells, a beautiful summer ditty with sweltering guitars and ethereal vocals.


Start sipping… 

The Keylimeade To My Lavender Heart

Makes about 1 quart

  • ¾ cup granulated sugar
  • ¾ cups water
  • 1 heaping tablespoon culinary lavender
  • ¾ cup key lime juice (about 15 limes, plus more for garnish), strained
  • 2-3 cups cold water (to taste)
  • 7-10 ice cubes
  1. Prepare the simple syrup by combining the sugar, ¾ cup water and lavender in a medium saucepan. Bring to a simmer to dissolve all the sugar. Remove from heat and leave for 30 minutes.
  2. Strain the simple syrup to remove the lavender blossoms. In a 1-quart jar, combine the syrup, lime juice and 2 cups water. Stir. Keep chilled. Add sliced limes and ice cubes before serving.

The Keylimeade to my Lavender Heart

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 18, 2015 by in Drink, Summer and tagged , , , , .

Popular Recipes

Enter your email address to get the latest recipes delivered fresh to your inbox.

Connect with me!

