Oh My Potluck!

Good recipes to share with friends.

Fried and True Chickpeas

 

Fried and True Chickpeas | OhMyPotluck.comI’ve been obsessing over chickpeas for the last month. I really wanted to perfect a fried chickpea recipe, and I think I’ve finally come up with a winner, which I affectionately call Fried and True.

In my crazy exploration of fried chickpea recipes, I was hoping to imitate an appetizer from a local pub. Unfortunately, I didn’t really get that close. However, I did find many other people who share my love for these chickpeas, but no one with a reasonable facsimile of the much-loved dish. I guess some chefs just need to keep their secrets close to their heart.

Fried and True Chickpeas | OhMyPotluck.com

Luckily (for you) I’m not about keeping secrets, so you can bring these tasty bites to your next potluck and share them freely with friends. Of course, don’t forget to share the recipe too.

Fried and True Chickpeas | OhMyPotluck.com

I shouldn’t say chefs are all about secrets (I also shouldn’t say that I’m a chef). I recently got a cookbook filled with recipes from Calgary’s top restaurant chefs. It’s called Calgary Cooks and it comes filled with so many goodies, well worth a spot on anyone’s bookshelf, even if you’re not from Calgary. Once you try some of these recipes, your mouth will be watering for more and you’ll wish you were in Calgary.

Fried and True Chickpeas | OhMyPotluck.com

In celebration of the recipe’s title, here’s a song called “Tried and True” by a band I’ve loved since I was a teenager, Ween. They’re a silly band who have explored almost every style of music imaginable. This one holds a special place in my heart though as it comes from the first Ween album I bought.

Now to get frying!

Fried and True Chickpeas

  • 1 19 ounce can chickpeas, drained and rinsed
  • 1/4 cup canola oil
  • 1 to 2 teaspoons minced garlic (3 to 4 garlic cloves)
  • 1/2 teaspoon Maldon sea salt flakes
  • 2 tablespoons shredded Parmesan
  • 2 tablespoons minced fresh parsley
  • 1 teaspoon crushed red pepper flakes, or smoked paprika if you don’t like spice
  1. Heat the canola oil in a frying pan. Once the oil is hot and shimmering, add the chickpeas. Fry in the oil until crispy, about 8 minutes.
  2. While the chickpeas fry, smash the garlic and salt together into a paste, then stir in the rest of the ingredients.
  3. When the chickpeas are done, use a slotted spoon to remove the chickpeas from the oil and into a paper towel lined bowl to drain excess oil. Toss the chickpeas and spices together. Store in nice serving bowl with a lid and bring to the potluck. They taste great at any temperature, but if you can keep them warm, even better.

Fried and True Chickpeas | OhMyPotluck.com

One comment on “Fried and True Chickpeas

  1. Pingback: Garlic & Red Pepper Fried Chickpeas (you'll be asking for more) | Kitchen Ammo Recipe Club!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 21, 2015 by in Appetizer & Noms, Quick And Easy, Vegetarian and tagged , , , .

Popular Recipes

Enter your email address to get the latest recipes delivered fresh to your inbox.

Connect with me!

