Oh My Potluck!

Good recipes to share with friends.

Herbed Push and Polenta, with Parmesan

Herbed Push and Polenta, with Parmesan | OhMyPotluck.comIt’s a new year and time to get busy in the kitchen again. The leftovers are long gone, but the tempting aromas of holiday food still linger in my nostrils. It’s time to get busy in the kitchen so the first thing I decided to cook was a creamy herbed polenta casserole. Let me say, this is definitely a potluck kind of dish if there ever was one. It is loaded with cream, which makes it super rich. It has a subtle herby flavour, but nothing too intense, so it pairs well with meats, beans and a variety of vegetables making it ideal for a potluck plate. And, it goes a long way.

Herbed Push and Polenta, with Parmesan | OhMyPotluck.com

Every new year I reflect on my accomplishments from the past year and set obligatory resolutions and 2015 has been no exception. I hardly ever make diet or fitness resolutions, as many people do, but my go-to resolution crutch is writing: writing every day, using a new word every day, writing better, developing stories, et cetera. Like clockwork, I’ve promised myself to write better this year. So, dear reader, I hope my writing delivers more to you this year than ever before.

Herbed Push and Polenta, with Parmesan | OhMyPotluck.com

Probably the most engaging topics are stories, and the most recent story I have is that of my holidays. I spent Christmas with my BFF’s family in rural Canada. The air was crisp, the fields were white and spirits were high. My favourite part was a one-dollar gift exchange. I had found some quirky gifts for the rest of the family, including a ridiculously happy “hip-hop hopper”, which was really just a ball with a spring on it. And I received a lovely book-pressed leaf as well as many other cute and thoughtful trinkets.

Herbed Push and Polenta, with Parmesan | OhMyPotluck.com

Along with the aforementioned presents, I got lots of chocolate, and I love chocolate more than anything else. I received some cute handmade chocolate mice. They were simple, but adorable. I wish I had taken a picture, but you’ll just have to imagine a chocolate covered cherry where the stem is the mouse tail and a kiss is affixed for the nose and two little chocolate chips for the ears. It’s completed with some icing eyes. Adorable and delicious.

Herbed Push and Polenta, with Parmesan | OhMyPotluck.com

What’s your favourite food of the holiday season? It’s no secret what mine is. I’d love to hear yours, so please share in the comments.

To accompany this rich dish, here’s a tasty song by an American band with two lead ladies. They go by the name Lucius. The song is fun, but the video is even funner. Check it out:

Now, to the kitchen.

Herbed Push and Polenta, with Parmesan

(Lifted from Maria Helm Sinskey)

Makes enough for about 15 side servings.

  • 4 cups milk
  • 4 cups water
  • 1/2 cup unsalted butter (1 stick)
  • 5 teaspoons salt
  • 1 tablespoon chopped rosemary
  • 2 cups polenta, not instant
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 1/2 cups freshly grated Parmesan cheese (about 130 grams or 4.5 ounces)
  • 1 1/2 cups heavy cream
  1. Grease a 12″ x 15″ rimmed baking sheet. In a saucepan, bring the milk, water and butter to a boil. Add the salt and rosemary. Slowly whisk in the polenta. Bring the mixture to a low boil and whisk continuously until thickened. Cook over low heat for 15 minutes, stirring occasionally. Remove the pan from the heat. Allow to cool for 10 minutes.
  2. Whisk the eggs into the polenta, one at a time. Whisk in 1 cup of the cheese. Spread the polenta on the prepared baking sheet. Cool to room temperature, then cover with saran wrap and refrigerate for at least 2 hours, until firm.
  3. Preheat the oven to 400°F (200˚C). Lightly butter a 15″ x 10″ casserole dish. Cut the polenta into 3″ squares (about 20 in total). Arrange the squares in the prepared baking dish, overlapping them slightly to form a single layer. Pour in the cream and sprinkle with the remaining Parmesan cheese. Bake for 40 minutes, or until puffed and golden. Let stand for 10 to 15 minutes, cover and store in a thermal container and bring to the potluck right away.

Herbed Push and Polenta, with Parmesan | OhMyPotluck.com

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 22, 2015 by in Side Dish, Vegetarian, Winter and tagged , , , , , .

Popular Recipes

Enter your email address to get the latest recipes delivered fresh to your inbox.

Connect with me!

