Oh My Potluck!

Good recipes to share with friends.

Citrus and Stay Salad (Virtual Vegan Potluck 2014)

Citrus and Stay Salad | OhMyPotluck.comI can’t believe it’s been more than a year since the last Virtual Vegan Potluck. I’m so excited to take part again, and this year I’ve brought a salad to the party.

It’s simple, but extraordinarily tasty none the less. The tropical citrus fruits and fresh ginger give a warm-weather kind of feeling, which is really nice when the temperatures outside are freezing.

Citrus and Stay Salad | Oh My Potluck.com

I’m actually looking forward to bringing this to potlucks in the summertime when grapefruits and limes are at their freshest. When I picked up the limes from the grocery store for the dressing, they were in a pretty dire condition. I was still able to squeeze enough juice out of them for this dressing, but it was not terribly easy.

Citrus and Stay Salad | Oh My Potluck.com

I can’t think of a better song for this recipe than “Tropical Iceland” by The Fiery Furnaces. I know, it’s a bit strange. The Fiery Furnaces (headed by a pair of siblings) love making strange sounds while still strumming out some catchy melodies. I think it’s pretty fun:

Okay, now onto our own tropical tossing:

Citrus and Stay Salad | Oh My Potluck.com

Citrus and Stay Salad [Vegan]

Good for 8-12 side servings.

  • 1 head of butter-leaf lettuce (or your preferred green), washed and torn into bite-sized pieces
  • 1 grapefruit
  • 2 tablespoons fresh lime juice (about 1 lime)
  • 1 tablespoon soy sauce
  • 1 tablespoon rice vinegar
  • 1 tablespoon grated fresh ginger
  • 2 teaspoons sugar
  • 2 tablespoons canola oil
  1. Cut off the peel and pith of the grapefruit. Over a bowl, carefully cut out each segment, allowing the juice to drip into the bowl. Save the juice for later. Place the grapefruit chunks on the torn lettuce in a serving bowl.
  2. For the dressing, combine 2 tablespoons of the reserved grapefruit juice, the lime juice, soy sauce, rice vinegar, ginger, sugar and canola oil. Blend or stir vigorously to emulsify. Put the dressing into a spouted bottle (dressing will likely need to be stirred or shaken before people use it). Bring the salad and dressing to your potluck.

Now that you’ve tried this, you can go explore more! Go back to The Compassion.it or go onward to Parsley In My Teeth.

12 comments on “Citrus and Stay Salad (Virtual Vegan Potluck 2014)

  1. An Unrefined Vegan
    December 13, 2014

    Thanks, Kat! Glad we managed to squeeze in a Potluck before 2015!

  2. An Unrefined Vegan
    December 13, 2014

    Kat, can you update the link to Parsley in my Teeth to: http://parsleyinmyteeth.com/recipes/main-dishes/green-curry-over-mung-bean-noodles/ Thanks!

  3. An Unrefined Vegan
    December 13, 2014

    Oh geez – never mind, Kat! It looks like PIMT does not have her Potluck entry up…sigh.

  4. Somer McCowan
    December 13, 2014

    this is perfect, except for the serving size. I could eat the whole thing all by myself 😉

  5. acookinthemaking
    December 13, 2014

    I feel you on the sad state of fruit this time of year. The salad looks fantastic nonetheless!

  6. Shannon Y-I-V
    December 13, 2014

    I love the salty/sweet/tangy thing this salad has going on with the citrus and other flavors. Though I agree with Somer, it would be hard not to eat more than one serving!! Happy VVP 🙂

  7. Pingback: Tropical Fruit Salad for the Virtual Vegan Potluck

  8. Parsley In My Teeth
    December 13, 2014

    I love your use of ginger. Sounds super delicious! Sorry it took me so long to get my post up and running. Happy VVP!

  9. Becky
    December 14, 2014

    Citrus and ginger sounds like such a nice winter combo. Happy belated VVP!

    • kahht
      December 15, 2014

      Likewise, thanks for coming by. (Ginger is always good in winter, I couldn’t resist throwing it in)

  10. Lovlie
    December 17, 2014

    Sounds so delicious! Love grapefruit in salads! And agree with Somer, I could eat the whole thing!

  11. Keely @ Gormandize
    December 27, 2014

    Love ginger in a salad, thanks for bringing to the VVP!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on December 12, 2014 by in Salad, Side Dish, Vegan, Vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , .

Popular Recipes

Enter your email address to get the latest recipes delivered fresh to your inbox.

Connect with me!

