Oh My Potluck!

Good recipes to share with friends.

Cinna-rum Bread Pudding

Cinna-Rum Bread Pudding | OhMyPotluck.comI can’t remember ever being excited for bread pudding, and perhaps the sometimes reviled raisin is to blame. Even though there are still a few scattered raisins here, the sweet cinnamon-roll flavor totally makes up for them.

In all honesty, I don’t mind raisins as much as I used to. When I was very young, probably around 7 years old, I ate an entire baggie of raisins. That turned me off raisins for a good 10 years. Now, I’m much more of a raisin fan, but I still understand people who dislike them.

Cinna-Rum Bread Pudding | OhMyPotluck.com

This recipe is inspired by a dessert I once saw listed on a menu. I was too full to try the “cinnamon roll bread pudding” that the restaurant touted, but I promised that I would try to make it myself… and I did! Initially, I thought I was going to make cinnamon rolls, cut them up and put them into the pudding, but decided instead to just use a lot of cinnamon with a ever-so-slightly sweet and a dense-yet-fluffy bread: challah. I’d definitely like to hear what kinds of bread other people try.

Cinna-Rum Bread Pudding | OhMyPotluck.com

Cinna-Rum Bread Pudding | OhMyPotluck.com

Like cinnamon buns, this bread pudding is incredibly sweet and full of cinnamon.

To match the sweetness of the recipe, here’s a sweet track and video by DSL called “Supalove”. They’re not an overly active band, so this track is a special treat. So, turn it up and dance around while you whip up your food:

Hope you love this bread pudding!

Cinna-rum Bread Pudding

Good for an 8-10 person potluck.

  • 5 to 6 cups packed challah bread cubes, (about one loaf with crust removed)
  • 3/4 cup raisins
  • 3 tablespoons spiced rum
  • 2 cups whole milk
  • 4 large eggs
  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • 3 tablespoons butter, melted
  • 2 1/4 tablespoons ground cinnamon
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla

Topping:

  • 3/4 cup powdered sugar
  • 1 to 3 tablespoons milk
  • 2 tablespoons butter, melted
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla
  1. Preheat oven to 350°F (175˚C). Grease a 2-quart casserole dish.
  2. Place raisins and rum in a small, shallow bowl. Set aside to soak.
  3. In a large bowl, whisk together the milk, eggs, sugar, butter, cinnamon, salt and vanilla. Fold in the bread cubes and raisins. Pour mixture into prepared baking dish, making sure the raisins are evenly distributed. Let sit for 15 minutes.
  4. Bake for about an hour. The bread pudding should be crisp on top and the middle should be set. Allow to cool slightly.
  5. In a medium bowl, whisk together the powdered sugar, milk and vanilla until smooth. Drizzle over the slightly cooled bread pudding. Cover and bring to potluck.

Cinna-Rum Bread Pudding | OhMyPotluck.com

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 23, 2014 by in Sweets, Vegetarian and tagged , , , .

Popular Recipes

Enter your email address to get the latest recipes delivered fresh to your inbox.

Connect with me!

