Oh My Potluck!

Good recipes to share with friends.

Bana-na Na-na Boo-boo Bars

banana-oat-barsI hadn’t made these bars in a very long time. They use Splenda (easily replaced with white sugar), which I pretty much stopped using a few years ago in favour of using natural sugars, and less of them. But, when I wanted a low-sugar recipe, I instantly remembered this gem from the Splenda cookbook. They’re a nice, healthy snack, and are always really popular when I take them to parties, whether I use sugar or sweetener.

Bana-na Na-na Boo-boo Bars

As I said, I don’t use Splenda that much anymore. The ingredients I like the most for sweetening are pureed fruits, like bananas, applesauce, dates or nectars. I think even if I am having more sugar than if I used an artificial sweetener, I’m probably getting more nutrients. Now, there’s a lot of debate around the topic of sweeteners, including how much of the nutrients are lost in the preparation… but that’s my take.

Bana-na Na-na Boo-boo Bars

Still, this recipe contains great stuff like whole-wheat flour, bananas and oats. It also tastes delicious. So dig in.

Bana-na Na-na Boo-boo Bars

Since this recipe is so great for any party (sleepovers, potlucks, BBQs), here’s an excellent party song. It’s been stuck in my head on a weekly basis since the album by Cloud Nothings came out in April. Every time I hear it, I want to dance so bad:

How great is that? The ending is so weird. I love it.

Bana-na Na-na Boo-boo Bars 

Bana-na Na-na Boo-boo Bars

Makes 16 small squares

  • 1 cup whole-wheat flour
  • ½ cup quick cooking oats, plus more for sprinkling on top
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • ½ teaspoon baking soda
  • ½ teaspoon cinnamon
  • ¼ cup margarine
  • 1 egg
  • ½ teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 cup mashed banana (about 2 bananas)
  • ½ cup white sugar (or Splenda)
  • 1/3 cup chocolate chips
  1. Preheat oven to 350˚F (180˚C). Grease an 8”x8” baking pan.
  2. Mix together the flour, oats, baking powder, baking soda and cinnamon in a medium bowl.
  3. In another medium bowl, beat margarine until smooth. Add the egg and vanilla, continuing to beat. Add in the banana and sugar, and beat for 1 minute.
  4. Stir the dry mixture into the banana mixture and add the chocolate chips.
  5. Pour into the prepared baking pan. Sprinkle with extra oats.
  6. Bake in the oven for 25 to 30 minutes.

Bana-na Na-na Boo-boo Bars

2 comments on “Bana-na Na-na Boo-boo Bars

  1. sophisticatedjerseygirl
    August 16, 2014

    Yum! These look good, and the top almost looks crumb-cakey 🙂

    • kahht
      August 16, 2014

      They’re great, thanks for stopping by. (it doesn’t turn out tasting crumb-cakey… but I’m sure you could add some sugar and butter to make it so)

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 16, 2014 by in Bars, Sweets, Vegetarian and tagged , , , , , .

Popular Recipes

Enter your email address to get the latest recipes delivered fresh to your inbox.

Connect with me!

