Oh My Potluck!

Good recipes to share with friends.

A Strawberry Good Summer Salad (With Caramelized Onion Vinaigrette)

A Summery Spinach SaladIt’s summer! That means fresh salads better than any other season’s salads. We’re talking juicy fruits and vivacious greens! Oh yeah.

You don’t even have to make it complex, the fruits and vegetables bring all the flavours to the table. I love making salads, like this, as side dishes for elegant main dishes, since they don’t require practically anytime. This was certainly the case when I made this salad, with corn and BBQ. Isn’t that oh so summery?

Spinach Strawberry Salad Ingredients

For me, summer means road trips. I love taking some weekends to go to the mountains. Those are just day trips usually, but at some point, my BFF and take a trip out to the prairies to visit family in Manitoba.

Carmalized Onion Vinaigrette

I recently found this singer named Priscilla Ahn, and I can’t wait to listen to her songs on my road trip playlist. With simple guitar and voice dominating the song, it’s the perfect kind of music for driving in the prairies.

I’ll admit I spend a lot of time preparing my road trip playlists. I specifically cater the music to the places I’ll be going, sometimes even breaking down different portions of the trip into different sections of playlist. I’ll choose songs about the ocean for the times I’m driving by the sea. I choose fairy-like music for those magical moments when I’m driving through the mountains, and so forth. I also love asking my friends for suggestions, because I love discovering new music. What kinds of music do you like listening to on road trips? Leave a comment, after enjoying this delicious summer salad.

A Strawberry Good Summer Salad (With Caramelized Onion Vinaigrette)

A Strawberry Good Summer Salad (With Caramelized Onion Vinaigrette)

Good for a potluck of about 10 people

  • 5 ounces (142 grams) baby spinach
  • about 2 ounces (60 grams or more)goat cheese, crumbled about 6 medium strawberries (or more), cut into quarters

Vinaigrette

  • 1/3 cup canola oil
  • 1/4 cup caster sugar
  • 1/4 cup red onion, chopped (about 1/2 a small onion)
  • 2 tablespoon white wine vinegar
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon dry mustard 
  1. Combine the salad ingredients and arrange them in a nice serving bowl. Keep refrigerated until ready for potluck. 
  2. For the vinaigrette, heat 1 teaspoon of canola oil in a frying pan over medium heat. Once it starts to shimmer, add the chopped onions. Stir regularly while the onions fry. Allow them to get golden brown and carmalized (about 7 minutes) and then put them in a blender.
  3. Add the rest of the dressing ingredients to the blender with the caramelized onions. Puree the ingredients until smooth. Place into a glass jar and bring to potluck to serve with the prepared salad.
Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 21, 2014 by in Salad, Summer, Vegetarian and tagged , , , , , .

Popular Recipes

Enter your email address to get the latest recipes delivered fresh to your inbox.

Connect with me!

