Oh My Potluck!

Good recipes to share with friends.

Roasted Call-iflower On Me

Roasted Cauliflower SaladI’ve been roasting a lot of vegetables, especially broccoli and cauliflower, lately. Adding some slices of lemon has worked incredibly well (thanks, Martha Stewart, for that tip).

In general, just mixing the veggies with a few dashes of whatever spices I think will taste good and a bit of oil seems to work great. This recipe has become one of my favourites though, and it’s pretty simple (as far as my roast vegetable concoctions go). The paprika and parsley are mostly for colour, but they do add a subtle flavour that doesn’t go completely unnoticed.

DSC_0004 DSC_0014

I guess this subtlety and appreciation of the simple things relates to the song “Exclamation Point” by Latyrx. After nearly 15 years since their first and seemingly last album, it was pretty cool to see this group working on stuff again. The two members of Latyrx (Lateef and Lyrics Born) did some cool solo stuff, but I was really happy when I heard this song and then their full-length album, appropriate called The Second Album.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OsvEx3r_Uvs

A beautiful message, right? Spring and summer always remind me to appreciate the little things in life and take it slow. I love riding my bike and taking walks. When I do so, I’m able to look around, be still and breath in the outdoors. I was recently having a conversation with someone who usually drives to work but decided to walk one day. He was amazed at all he had missed when he was on the road. I couldn’t agree more.

DSC_0018

Where I live, I see a lot of birds. This morning I saw a woodpecker pecking at a street light pole, which was a bit sad. I see lots of Canadian Geese, who are too proud and vicious for their own good. A lot of adorable diving ducks too. I saw a beautiful one covered in many white feathers and two huge orange feet. It was diving under the water and it was just fascinating to watch.

I love stopping for these sights. What do you see on walks and what do you stop for?

Maybe next time you’re on a walk, bring along some roasted cauliflower and stop for a picnic(this recipe tastes great even after cooling).

DSC_0020

Roasted Call-iflower On Me

Good for a small, 8 person potluck.

  • 1 bunch cauliflower, chopped into florets
  • 1/4 cup hemp oil or olive oil
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 teaspoon cumin seeds
  • 3/4 teaspoon Hungarian paprika
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground black pepper
  • 2 lemons, thinly sliced
  • 1/2 cup fresh parsley, chopped
  1. Preheat oven to 400°.
  2. Combine oil, garlic, cumin, paprika, salt and pepper and toss with cauliflower until all pieces are well-coated. Place cauliflower in a baking dish. Top with slices of lemon.
  3. Roast for 25 to 30 minutes, stirring about every 10 minutes. The cauliflower should be crisp, tender and golden brown when done. Remove the lemon slices.
  4. Place in a serving bowl, then stir in parsley. Let cool a bit and serve.

 

DSC_0027

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 31, 2014 by in Autumn, Side Dish, Summer, Vegan, Vegetarian and tagged , , , , , .

Popular Recipes

Enter your email address to get the latest recipes delivered fresh to your inbox.

Connect with me!

