Oh My Potluck!

Good recipes to share with friends.

Rice Up, Rice Up! Curry Casserole

curry rice casserole

I struggled with curry for a long, long time. In all honesty, I’m still learning the fine art of mixing flavours for the ideal balance found in a good curry. However, I have improved. In the early days, no matter what I did, I never got the balance of spices right and I never enjoyed the food. Eventually, I found coconut milk, which seems to add a balancing, subtle sweetness.

The other change I have made to my technique is being bolder with the applications of curry. I recently posted some curried nuts, and have been experimenting more with what I can put curry in. This rice casserole is another one of those experiments, which also happens to be quite potluck friendly.

DSC_0010

Two things I love about curries are their lively flavours and vibrant colours. Just looking back at the pictures of this curry, showing an array of beautiful vegetables and spices, makes my mouth water. When I look at the lovely colours and taste the rich flavours, it seems no wonder to me why the Silk Road trade routes were so important (okay, I know I’m generalizing a lot, but I’d travel a pretty long distance to get my hands on these spices too… if I lived thousands of years ago)

DSC_0013

Because the curry is so packed with flavours and colour, here’s a lively song by Mikhael Paskalev called “Jive Baby” (just a warning, the video is not entirely kid friendly). Mikhael has a Norwegian-Bulgarian background, which creeps into his jive-ey rock and roll style from time to time. This song is just a ton of fun and has made it onto a number of my travel mixes.

Rice Up, Rice Up! Curry Casserole

Good as 15 to 20 small portions (about 5 full servings)

  • 1 1/2 cups uncooked brown basmati rice
  • 3 tablespoons vegetable oil
  • 1 cup yellow onion, chopped (about 1 medium)
  • 2 cups carrots, peeled and chopped (about 4 medium or 450 grams or 1 pound)
  • 2 tablespoons curry powder
  • 4 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 inch ginger, peeled and minced
  • 1 inch fresh turmeric (or 1 teaspoon ground)
  • 1 jalapeno pepper
  • 1/2 teaspoon cayenne
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground black pepper
  • 2 cups basic vegetable broth
  • 1 can (14-ounce) reduced-fat coconut milk
  • 3/4 cup peas
  • 1/2 cup sliced almonds
  • 1 cup fresh coriander, chopped (optional)
  1. Heat oven to 375˚F (190˚C).
  2. In a saucepan, heat oil over medium heat. Sauté the onion and carrots until the onions have softened (about 5 minutes). Add the curry powder, garlic, ginger, turmeric, jalapeno, cayenne, cinnamon, salt and pepper. Cook until fragrant (less than one minute).
  3. Stir in the broth and the coconut milk. Bring the mixture to a boil over high heat. Boil for 1 minute. Remove the pan from heat and stir in the rice and peas.
  4. Transfer the mixture to a 4-liter casserole dish. Cover tightly and place in oven. Bake for 80 minutes. It might look like not all the liquid has absorbed, but once it sits and you give it a stir, it’ll be fine. Remove from oven and keep covered for 10 minutes.
  5. Stir in almonds and fresh coriander and put the cover back on. Bring to the potluck!

DSC_0015

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 24, 2014 by in Casserole, Main Dish, Vegan, Vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , , , .

Popular Recipes

Enter your email address to get the latest recipes delivered fresh to your inbox.

Connect with me!

