Oh My Potluck!

Good recipes to share with friends.

I’ve Bean Thinking Of You Salad (Vegan, Gluten-Free)

bean salad colourSometimes you just want something classic, like a good bean salad. This one certainly fits the bill. It has just a bit of a kick, which can be toned down for the sensitive crowds, and cranked up for the more wild parties. I like it spicy.

I love recipes that can be made a day ahead of time, too. Sometimes a potluck will be on a night where I have no time to be in the kitchen during the day. Call in a recipe like this! Not only is it relatively quick and easy (the most time consuming part being chopping veggies), but it can sit for up to two days without compromising flavour. Love it.

DSC_0036

Sometimes I really want to have my own restaurant or café where I can share these sorts of things on a more regular basis. I’ve just returned from a small trip where I stayed at a bed and breakfast. It would be so lovely to have people to make breakfast for every morning. Whenever I imagine this future, my brain goes overboard and I’m offering people a smorgasbord of bakery items and breakfast entrees. Maybe I could have a bakery out the back to offer the remaining scones and muffins.

DSC_0037

All that said, this dream will have to be rolled out in a couple of decades. In the meantime, I’ll write a screenplay for my amazing horror-comedy and keep perfecting my morning dishes (which I hardly share on here as breakfast potlucks are a bit more rare).

If OhMyPotluck is still around, I’ll definitely share stories with you. Any advice would be much appreciated.

DSC_0048

Speaking of beds, breakfasts, and dreams, this track offers up something pretty dreamy. It’s called “Fahrenheit” by the Bloom Twins, who are actually twins living in London, but born in Kiev. They execute their harmonies just beautifully. Take a look.

I’ve Bean Thinking Of You Salad (Vegan)

Good for a potluck of about a dozen people

  • 1 (19 ounce or 540 millilitre) can Cannellini Beans
  • 1 (19 ounce or 540 millilitre) can Garbanzo Beans
  • 1 (19 ounce or 540 millilitre) can Black Beans
  • 1 large green pepper, diced fine (about 1 1/2 cup)
  • 1 medium red onion, diced fine (about 1 1/2 cups)
  • 3/4 cup parsley, finely chopped
  • 1 jalapeno, minced (about 2 tablespoons)

Dressing

  • 3 tablespoons red wine vinegar
  • 3 tablespoons white sugar*
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 1/4 teaspoon chili powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground black pepper
  • 1/8 teaspoon salt
  • 2 cloves garlic, crushed
  1. Stir together the different beans, green pepper, onion, parsley and jalapeno.
  2. Combine the vinegar, sugar, oil, chili powder, pepper, salt and garlic. Mix well, then pour over the beans and toss to coat. Put into a nice serving bowl and bring to the potluck. The salad will keep in the fridge with excellent flavour for up to two days.

*Some white sugars aren’t vegan. If this is a concern, check veganproducts.com

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 17, 2014 by in Salad, Side Dish, Summer, Vegan, Vegetarian and tagged , , , , .

Popular Recipes

Enter your email address to get the latest recipes delivered fresh to your inbox.

Connect with me!

