Oh My Potluck!

Good recipes to share with friends.

What’s the Egg Idea Fried Quinoa

fried quinoaAfter enjoying some delicious fried noodles, I got to thinking about the many variations of fried starches, which naturally got me thinking about my favourite starch offering, quinoa. I knew egg-fried quinoa would be amazing, offering a rich flavour that would perfectly complement the peas and carrots. What do you know? It worked wonderfully.

DSC_0109

Since making this the first time a couple months ago, I’ve adopted this as my go to starch dish for many Asian themed meals. I’ve also had great success with it at a potluck and a party, which seem to be picking up given the change in weather (or perhaps I’m just more inclined to venture outdoors).

combination

The weather has turned from being great for ice palaces to being more hospitable to sitting on patios. These sorts of changes always remarkably shift the overall mood of people. It’s like night and day, or cold and hot (more literally). More people strike up conversations, more people laugh and there’s just generally more people out and about! I love it.

DSC_0129

Speaking of shifts, I shifted jobs recently and am now working for a cool tech company called Phidgets. The company makes sensors and controllers that have broad applications. It’s been really exciting so far. Here’s a video I made:

To celebrate the new job, I’m sharing a song by Lil Silva and Banks called “Work”. I’ve wanted to share this for a long time because it is such an amazingly cool song. I find it hard to fit in electro-jams though as I often want the theme to fit, so now seems as good a time as ever.

What’s the Egg Idea Fried Quinoa

Good for 8-10 people potlucks

  • 2 tablespoons sesame oil
  • 1 small white onion, chopped
  • 1/2 cup frozen peas
  • 2 carrots, thinly sliced
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 cups cooked quinoa (about 3/4 cups from dry)
  • 2-3 tablespoons soy sauce (more or less to taste)
  • 2 tablespoons chopped green onions
  1. Preheat a large skillet or wok to medium heat. Pour sesame oil in the bottom. Add white onion, peas and carrots and fry until tender.
  2. Slide the onion, peas and carrots to the side, and pour the beaten eggs onto the other side. Scramble the eggs. Once cooked, mix the eggs and the vegetables together.
  3. Add quinoa to the wok with the vegetables and eggs. Pour the soy sauce on top. Stir and fry the rice and veggie mixture until heated through and combined. Add chopped green onions and serve.
Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 3, 2014 by in Side Dish, Vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , .

Popular Recipes

Enter your email address to get the latest recipes delivered fresh to your inbox.

Connect with me!

