Oh My Potluck!

Good recipes to share with friends.

Haters Gonna Hate, Potatoes Gonna Potate (Potato Skins)

Hater Gonna Hate, Potatoes Gonna PotateThis version of the “potato skin” gets pretty fancy with Boursin cheese. I could see it fitting right in at a U.S. Open or Royal Ascot event, but what do I know? I don’t really do sports. Wherever you take it, it’ll be delicious, and that’s what really matters.

 

 

76c

I have to share the inspiration for this recipe’s title (see photo above). As soon as I saw this meme, I couldn’t stop repeating it. I already say “haters gonna hate” enough and I eat a lot of potatoes, so the cute cartoon spoke to me on a pretty deep level.

DSC_0139

I rarely eat potato skins prepared in this fashion, save for summer vacations. Long days of traveling by car and stopping in quaint diners seem the perfect time and place for these snacks.

DSC_0161

I can’t wait for the influx of potatoes to hit the markets in July. Although potatoes are available year around, there are so many more varieties come early summer and it’s fun to make colourful potato salads. I was lucky to get my hands on some Red Norlands for this recipe, which worked great, but any russet variety will do as well.

DSC_0172

I’m also sharing a song that seems appropriately summery called “Wave Forms” by Islands. It was released last year, and I got to do an interview with Nick Thorburn from the band. He lives in L.A, but hails from Montreal and I get the sense that this song has a sunny California influence.

Can you tell that I’m very excited for the summer? I’ll be heading out to Manitoba for a week where I’ll spend time with my BFF’s family, do some camping and watch some folk music. Even though we probably won’t get out to any lakes, it’ll still be really grand. Maybe I’ll bring along some potatoe skins…

Haters Gonna Hate, Potatoes Gonna Potate (Potato Skins)

Good for about 15 people

  • 3 pounds small-medium russet potatoes (about nine potatoes)
  • 1 tablespoon extra-virgin olive oil
  • 1/4 teaspoon sea salt
  • 5.3 ounces (150 grams) Boursin shallot and chive cheese
  • 2 tablespoons sour cream, plus more for serving
  • 2 tablespoon salted butter
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced (optional)
  • 1/2 teaspoon fresh ground black pepper
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 3 ounces cheddar cheese, shredded (about 1 cup)
  • 1/4 cup finely chopped green onions
  1. Coat the cleaned potatoes in olive oil and then sprinkle with sea salt. Bake for an hour at 400˚F.
  2. Allow the potatoes to cool for at least 10 minutes. Cut them in half and scoop out the inside, leaving a few millimeters (1/8 inch) inside the skin.
  3. Mash the scooped potato, Boursin, sour cream, butter, garlic, pepper and salt. Place the mixture back in the potato skins and top with some cheddar.
  4. Bake for another 10-13 minutes until cheese is gooey but not yet starting to brown. Sprinkle the green onions on top; they should stick to the cheese. Serve with sour cream (optional).

DSC_0186

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 27, 2014 by in Appetizer & Noms, Cheese, Spring, Vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , .

Popular Recipes

Enter your email address to get the latest recipes delivered fresh to your inbox.

Connect with me!

