Oh My Potluck!

Good recipes to share with friends.

Cherry Pie Your Love With Me!

cherry pie

Cherries from the colder climes and bourbon from the warmer make an irresistible treat for Pi Day (3.14) and Pi Month (3.’14). They work so well together I almost believed the two were old friends, but practically don’t share any heritage at all. Travers City, Michigan is the “Cherry Capitol of the World”, while Kentucky is the home of most Bourbon.

The state of Michigan is the largest producer of sour cherries in North America (the Eastern European countries are making a killing on sour cherries that beats li’l old Michigan’s numbers by far). These hearty little fruits are well suited to cold climates, hence why they flourish in Canadian climates as well.

DSC_0196

In my search for more knowledge about sour cherries I found some information about their pain relieving qualities that everyone from the Mayan people to Aboriginals to modern researchers recognize. They’re high in vitamins, antioxidants, melatonin (good for sleep) and other things that fight bad stuff, like cancer.

DSC_0198

Bitter fruits are all about great health. Cranberries are high in antioxidants. Grapefruits are hydrating wells of disease fighting compounds and vitamins. I mentioned these two particularly bitter fruits but aren’t most fruits and vegetables a great source of this stuff? Yup, but even the bitter fruits are good, and I do my best to love them even when I pucker at their taste.

DSC_0203

Enough about the fruit, while preparing this wonderful pie I listened to a great story told by the grandson of one of Kentucky’s great bourbon distillers, Jim Beam. It sure put me in a good mood for this pie (even though I used Knob Creek bourbon… shhh).

DSC_0207

After sharing some slices with my mom and BFF, I enjoyed the remainder of the pie for a few consecutive breakfasts. Sometimes I feel really lucky not to have kids — and usually it’s when I’m eating terrible food, like pie, for breakfast. So, if I had kids, wouldn’t I have to set an example and eat something healthy? I think crumbles and pies make fantastic breakfasts once in a while and I don’t know if I’d be able to hold off for some twenty years. No way. This no sweet pie for breakfast thing is a total deal breaker. (Considering the number of times I’ve thought about that should tell you how many times I don’t eat particularly “healthy” breakfasts. I’m blushing.)

DSC_0211

While contemplating what song to include for Pi Day, I found there really are a ton of songs about pies, but not so many about pi. After a lot of searching, I found this darling song by Kissogram, a short-lived German band from the early 2000s. They made cute lo-fi electropop music including a song called “She’s An Apple Pie” (close enough to cherry pie, I think):

Cherry Pie Your Love With Me!

(Found on Epicurious, Bon Appétit Test Kitchen)

Makes two pies.

Crumble:

  • 1/2 cup old-fashioned oats
  • 1/4 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/4 cup (packed) light brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup sliced almonds
  • 1/2 teaspoon kosher salt
  • 1/4 cup (1/2 stick) chilled unsalted butter, cut into 1/2″ pieces

Pie:

  • Nonstick vegetable oil spray
  • 2 pie crusts, homemade or store-bought (find my favourite recipe here)
  • 3 24.7-ounce jars pitted sour cherries in syrup, drained well
  • 3/4 cups sugar
  • 1/4 cup bourbon
  • 3 tablespoons cornstarch
  • 2 tablespoons fresh orange juice
  • 1 tablespoon finely grated orange zest

Crumble:

  1. Whisk all ingredients except butter in a medium bowl until no lumps of sugar remain. Rub butter into oat mixture with your fingertips until it’s completely incorporated. If butter begins to soften while mixing, chill mixture for about 15 minutes to firm it up. Use immediately or cover and chill crumble up to 5 days ahead of time.

Pie:

  1. Preheat oven to 350°F (175˚C). Line a rimmed baking sheet with foil and lightly coat with nonstick spray (for easy cleanup in case the pie bubbles over). Set aside. Line two pie dishes with crust and crimp edges decoratively. Place pie dish on prepared baking sheet.
  2. Combine cherries and the remaining five ingredients in a large bowl. Using a rubber spatula, gently mix until cherries are coated and mixture is evenly distributed.
  3. Pour cherries into pie crust and top evenly with crumble. Bake until piecrusts and center of crumble are deep golden brown and juices from cherries are bubbling and look thickened, about 1 ¼ to 1 ½ hours. (The juices will begin to ooze out of crust and onto foil-lined sheet).
  4. Let the pies cool for at least 2 hours at room temperature to allow filling to set properly. (Cutting into the pie before it’s set will result in a runny filling). Enjoy immediately, but refrigerate it after a day (if it lasts that long).

DSC_0213

2 comments on “Cherry Pie Your Love With Me!

  1. Rae
    March 13, 2014

    When you mentioned kids, I thought you were going to say it was because there wouldn’t be as much left for you.

    • kahht
      March 13, 2014

      I love sharing but I also love eating sweet things for breakfast.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 13, 2014 by in Pie and tagged , , , , , , , .

Popular Recipes

Enter your email address to get the latest recipes delivered fresh to your inbox.

Connect with me!

