Oh My Potluck!

Good recipes to share with friends.

Be My Bro-ccoli Salad

broccoli saladMy aunt and I were recently discussing potlucks. She mentioned her favourite potluck recipe – a broccoli salad. Right away, I checked the website and I couldn’t believe I hadn’t posted this recipe yet!

This is a recipe I’ve had for a long time. I’m talking 10 or more years! I’ve brought it to potlucks, I’ve made it for countless dinners and I’ve taken it on a few picnics, too.

DSC_0003

I have a particularly fond memory of taking this salad on a picnic in Lac Des Arcs with my BFF. He absolutely loved it (which was good, because I don’t know how I feel about people who dislike broccoli) and we continue to make it and eat it with delight to this day.

DSC_0012

Whenever I hear “broccoli” I think “rock-oli” (I blame my co-worker No Frills Fox for that). As I fought to come up with another pun, I realized I could combine the best of both worlds by playing an awesome rock-oli song about bros! Those Darlins are a funny group of lasses and gents making some catchy as heck songs. This was the first song I heard of theirs and it really cracked me up. I still find it wandering into my head every now and then. It’s called “Be Your Bro”:

This isn’t the first time I’ve talked about broccoli’s rock loving antics. If you’re into broccoli, check out Lost in Sautéed Broccoli and Garlic Salad; it will not disappoint. I promise.

DSC_0016

But better yet, before getting out the frying pan and sizzling, try this salad. Once you’ve cut up the broccoli, it takes no time to whip together making it a perfect last-minute potluck dish.

DSC_0022

Be My Bro-ccoli Salad

Good for a dozen-person potluck.

  • 2 tablespoons sugar
  • 3 tablespoons white wine vinegar
  • 1 cup mayonnaise
  • 3 bunches of broccoli, washed well and cut into bite-size florets
  • 1 small red onion, finely chopped (about 3/4 cups)
  • 3/4 cup unsalted sunflower seeds
  • 1/2 cup raisins
  1. In a medium bowl, combine the sugar and vinegar. Stir to dissolve most of the sugar then stir in the mayonnaise. Set aside while cutting the broccoli and red onion.
  2. In a large bowl, toss together the mayonnaise dressing, broccoli, red onion, sunflower seeds and raisins. Put into a nice, sealable serving bowl and take to the party.
2 comments on “Be My Bro-ccoli Salad

  1. potlucktam
    March 8, 2014

    I love this! I have a recipe that is all the same ingredients, but with bacon added. And I got it from my aunt, too!

    • kahht
      March 8, 2014

      It’s a totally classic recipe, and for good reason.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 6, 2014 by in Quick And Easy, Salad, Side Dish, Vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , , .

Popular Recipes

Enter your email address to get the latest recipes delivered fresh to your inbox.

Connect with me!

