Oh My Potluck!

Good recipes to share with friends.

His & Linzers Cookies

linzersI have been wanting to try my hand at Linzer cookies for so long and I’m so glad I did… just in time to make a heart-filled post for Valentine’s Day.

It’s funny, because I made these cookies before Christmas. I have a huge backlog of recipes to post for you and have missed a couple weeks, so I’m getting on top of it and doing it right.

Currently, I’m immobilized as my ankle heals from surgery last week. I’m keeping it up and iced as much as possible, but that also means I’m very stationary and very bored most of the time. Luckily, it’s not as bad as when my ankle was first broken so I should be up and at ’em really quick. In the mean time, I’m getting photos edited, drawings coloured and recipes typed. Not to mention, I’m crafting some fantastic new ideas that I’ll be putting in the oven once I’m more mobile.

2013-12-23 10.14.33

Since Valentine’s Day is approaching, I thought I’d share a cute video about lost moments and crushes. I’m not a fan of really sappy songs, so you’re not getting any sugar-coated love songs from this baker. This song is by Born Ruffians, from their newest album, Birthmarks. I think they’re just dandy and this video has such a beautiful tone to it. It kind of matches the colour of cookies:

What kind of celebrations do you have on Valentine’s Day? I, personally, love chocolate and try to indulge a little more than usual in something special. Last year, I made Red Wine Truffles that were truly unforgettable. If chocolate is your weak spot, like me, then check that one out for sure.

2013-12-23 10.26.05

If you want an awesome movie about love, check out Amour. It’s streaming on Netflix, and it is beautiful. It won  many awards including the Palme D’Or at Cannes in 2012 and an Academy Award for Best Foreign Language Film in 2013. It is so deserving. I admire its honesty about love and the realness of the characters. It’s a more mature film about love, so if you’re looking for something youthfully romantic, then this is not the one… but you should still watch it sometime. I’m tearing up just thinking about it. Oh, all the feels.

 

2013-12-23 10.45.22

 

Finally, my last Valentine’s Day recommendation: Make these cookies with your favourite person! If your lover isn’t that into baking, prepare the dough ahead of time and have fun putting them together, together. Now, here’s the recipe:

 

2013-12-23 10.50.06

His & Linzers Cookies

Makes about 3 1/2 dozen, depending on size.

  • 1 cup of butter, softened (or 226 grams)
  • 1 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
  • 1 teaspoon lemon zest
  • 1 3/4 cups all-purpose flour (or 220 grams)
  • 1/2 cup whole wheat flour (or 60 grams)
  • 3/4 cup almonds, ground
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/8 teaspoon ground cloves
  • 1 cup seedless raspberry or currant jam
  1. In a large bowl, cream together the butter and sugar. Beat in the egg, vanilla and lemon zest. In another bowl, whisk together the flour, ground almonds, cinnamon, salt and cloves.
  2. Fold the dry ingredients into the creamed mixture until the texture is consistent. Gather into a ball, divide in half and shape each half into a disk. Wrap in plastic wrap and place in refrigerator for half an hour to an hour.
  3. Preheat the oven to 350˚F (175˚C). Prepare a baking sheet with parchment paper.
  4. Roll  the chilled dough out on a lightly floured surface until it’s 1/5″ thick (about 1/2 a centimetre). Cut dough with a metal cookie cutter about 2 1/2″ or 6 centimetre in diameter (preferably a heart-shaped one) . Use a smaller cookie cutter to cut the centre from the tops. Use a metal spatula to lift the bottom parts of the cookies onto the prepared baking sheet. Spread a spoonful of jam in the middle and cover with the top cookie, pressing down on the edges a bit to close.
  5. Bake in the oven for 10 to 12 minutes until golden brown around the edges. Cool on baking sheet for a few minutes before transferring to a wire rack. Allow to cool completely  before storing in an airtight container for bringing to the party.

2013-12-25 16.11.40

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 29, 2014 by in Cookies, Sweets, Vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , , , .

Popular Recipes

Enter your email address to get the latest recipes delivered fresh to your inbox.

Connect with me!

