Oh My Potluck!

Good recipes to share with friends.

Makin’ Mushrooms Wrapped in Bacon

baconmushroomwrapIsn’t it just about Super Bowl time? It’s football season, am I right? I’m no sports aficionado, who am I kidding, but, I did wrap mushrooms in bacon, and they turned out stupendously.

I decided to allow inspiration to flow from the jalapeno poppers  I made a little while ago (also great Super Bowl snacks). After I made the cheesy stuffing, I put some on crackers and it was super amazing. I guess what I’m trying to say here is, if you have some cheese left over, put it in a nice bowl, arrange crackers on the side and serve it like you meant to all along.

DSC_0113

While you’re getting things ready, you may be interested in this odd-ball video by the band Beach House, from Baltimore. They seem to have created their own sport, but I’m pretty sure it’s played on the football field:

DSC_0120

With deep snow piling up all around and the mercury plummeting, I haven’t seen as many people out playing sports. Snow football seems like an excellent idea though. I’m not a fan of getting bruises, but some soft, fresh snow would be just the cushioning I need. The snow might also provide a challenge for more seasoned players, making it easier for me to make a touch down.

All things considered though, I’m very happy to rest indoors, bake, drink tea and read books rather than getting cold and soggy in the snow. That is how delicious food is born. Mmmm -mushrooms.

DSC_0126

Makin’ Mushrooms Wrapped in Bacon

Makes 20.

  • 16 ounces cream cheese
  • 1/3 cup finely chopped green onions (about 2-3 onions), ends removed
  • 1/3 cup finely chopped jalapeno peppers (about 2 peppers), seeded and stemmed
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons garlic powder
  • 20 large white mushrooms, stems removed
  • 20 slices of bacon, sliced medium thick (about 1 pound)
  • 20 fancy wooden toothpicks
  1. Preheat oven to 400˚F (205˚C). Line a backing sheet with aluminum foil. Set aside.
  2. Combine the cream cheese, green onions, jalapenos and garlic powder. Stir well to combine.
  3. Take a tablespoon of the cheese mixture and stuff it inside a mushroom. Repeat with the rest of the mushrooms.
  4. Wrap a slice of bacon around each stuffed mushroom. Use a toothpick to hold the bacon in place. Place the bacon wrapped mushrooms on the baking sheet and cook for 15-20 minutes, until bacon starts to get crisp, but not burnt.

DSC_0136

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 16, 2014 by in Appetizer & Noms, Cheese and tagged , , , , , , , .

Popular Recipes

Enter your email address to get the latest recipes delivered fresh to your inbox.

Connect with me!

