Oh My Potluck!

Good recipes to share with friends.

Nacho Average Salsa – It’s Gualsa

gualsaSo, you love guacamole and you dig salsa. Why not make a chunky hybrid? Gualsa (also known as Salsamole, Guacalsa and so on) is a delicious and party friendly answer to satisfy your loves.

I’m halfway through a flight to Toronto as I type this and I’m flirting with my laptop’s battery dying on me. Did I mention I’m only halfway through a three and a half hour flight? I have dimmed my screen so much that squinting is almost necessary and even using Word troubles me; is a plain text editor less of a drain on resources? On top of all these humorous attempts to prolong the life of my battery, I’m also saving every minute just in case it decides to die this second. Oh, the games we play, eh Lappy?

2013-09-15 07.46.35

In Toronto I get to be part of the grand jury that selects the best Canadian album of the past year and award the winning artist the Polaris Music Prize along with $30,000. Past winners include Feist, Fucked Up, Final Fantasy and Arcade Fire. Amazingly, none of the nominees this year have the letter “f” in their name, but nor did Caribou (2008) or Karkaw (2010).

2013-09-15 10.52.10

I probably won’t have time to explore some of the wonders of Toronto, namely the CN Tower. There’s also Yonge Street; it’s a very long road. There must be more to the Canadian metropolis but, without paying for in-flight Wi-fi, I’m not going to know about it now.

2013-09-15 10.57.36

There are a lot of excellent nominees up for the Polaris Prize this year. My heart lies with Purity Ring, but seeing as I’ve already shared many of their videos, I thought I’d share this really cool video by METZ. You’ve got to see this band; their energy is something else when they play their brand of urgent and raw punk that has a well-orchestrated noise element to it. They’ve been around since 2010 but released their debut, self-titled album in late 2012 on indie label staple, Sub Pop.

Nacho Average Salsa – It’s Gualsa

(Thanks to Murad from CJAM Radio in Windsor for the recipe)

Serves 25 people, with other food.

  • 4 to 6 tomatoes, diced
  • 4 avocados, diced
  • 1 jalapeno, minced
  • 1 tablespoon garlic, minced (3 cloves)
  • ¼ cup cilantro, minced (optional)
  • 3 scallions, diced fine
  • 1 small red onion, diced fine
  • 3 tablespoons lemon juice (1 fresh lemon)
  • 1/8 teaspoon cayenne pepper
  • Salt and pepper, to taste
  • 2 bags tortilla chips, for serving
  1. Combine all ingredients. Stir to combine. Put into a nice large serving bowl and bring to the potluck with a couple bags of tortilla chips.

2013-09-15 11.00.59

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 31, 2013 by in Appetizer & Noms, Dip, Side Dish, Summer, Vegan, Vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , , , , .

Popular Recipes

Enter your email address to get the latest recipes delivered fresh to your inbox.

Connect with me!

