Oh My Potluck!

Good recipes to share with friends.

The Liebster Blog Award

Casey runs a blog called Veggies and Glitter. It’s a combination of wellness, food and fashion. She’s adorable, practical and a great writer. Thanks, Casey, for nominating me!

liebster2

The Liebster award is given by bloggers to bloggers. It’s for the blogs that may just be getting going and don’t have many followers (less than 200), yet. I’ve been enjoying exploring the other blogs in the network! It’s amazing how the stream of blogs connect to one another. I’d highly recommend taking a little meander. Who knows what you’ll find!

Rules

  1. Thank the blogger who nominated you and link back to their blog.
  2.  Post 11 facts about yourself, answer the 11 questions asked of you, and create 11 new questions for the bloggers you nominate.
  3.  Nominate 11 blogs you think deserve to be noticed, and leave comments for them letting them know that they’ve been chosen.
  4. Display the Liebster Award logo.
  5. No tag-backs.

11 Facts About Me

  1. I’ve lived in the same city my whole life.
  2. My favourite photographer is Nobuyoshi Araki.
  3. My favourite video game is Burger Time.
  4. Tetris is a close second.
  5. I have one cousin.
  6. I love mathematics.
  7. I’ve been reading the same book (off and on) for three years (Gödel, Escher, Bach: an Eternal Golden Braid).
  8. I have very short pinky toes.
  9. I was a camp counselor.
  10. I’ve intentionally eaten bugs (at the camp where I was a counselor… how these facts just flow from each other).
  11. I have a small teacup collection and I’m very picky about the cups that may be added to it.

11 Questions from Casey, Answered

  1. Why did you first start blogging? I blogged when I was in high school. I had a page on Diaryland where I recorded my personal thoughts and grievances.
  2. What is at the top of your Bucket List of things to do? I have “to speak French fluently” at the top of my bucket list. I’ve had that one on there for over a dozen years.
  3. What are the three items in your closet you wear the most?
    2013-09-08 17.25.21
  4. What is one song lyric or quotation that you most identify with and why? “Where is my mind” – The Pixies. I’m always saying this. My mind is everywhere and anywhere that I’m always losing it.
  5. What’s the last book you read? Although I read slower in the summer, I did finish Foundation And Empire by Isaac Asimov a few weeks ago. I’m working through the Foundation Series, which is a six part series written over 50 years. It takes place far into the future when mankind inhabits the galaxy and is facing a dark period of change.
  6. What is your biggest fear? The most common thing I fear is cutting off my fingers. I also fear geese (and ducks, by similarity), but there is nothing about them in particular that I fear, I just fear them. Geese embody fear. There are also abstract things I may fear more but I probably imagine some way that a kitchen knife could do me harm at least once a day.
  7. If you could only eat one thing every day, what would it be? Cake. Am I allowed to be that broad?
  8. Who is the most inspirational person in your life? This question has had me hung up for months. I find inspiration in everyone I know. My dear BFF inspires me to be kind and listen. My mom is a strong and independent woman, which has no doubt shaped the person that I am today. My friends show me their love, enthusiasm and creativity and I am constantly inspired to do more because of them.
  9. What is your profession aside from blogging? I’m a music director at a community radio station (CJSW) in Calgary, Alberta, Canada.
  10. What is one beauty product you can’t live without? I don’t do a whole lot of beauty products. I use moisturizer and lotion, but if I didn’t have that I’d use coconut oil. I use nail trimmers regularly because I can’t stand long nails, but if I needed to, I’d bite them down even though I really hate the feeling of biting my nails. I guess my skin care routine is pretty important because acne still haunts me to this day and there’s no substitute for my heavy-duty facial care routine.
  11. What TV show could you watch all day? The answer is easily Doctor Who. For one, there’s probably a ton of episodes I’ve never seen before, given that it’s been going on for 50 years. For two, it’s really fun.

11 Questions for my nominees

  1. Do you prefer early mornings or sleeping in?
  2. Do you have a daily routine?
  3. What’s something you use every day, but could do without if you were stuck in the post-apocalypse?
  4. What was the last movie you really enjoyed?
  5. Have you ever walked out on a movie in a theatre?
  6. What’s your favourite word?
  7. Where do you get inspiration?
  8. What have you owned the longest?
  9. What’s the best thing you’ve inherited (genetically or otherwise)?
  10. Where could you spend the rest of your life, if you had to choose?
  11. How long do you hope to live?

11 (or so) Nominees

I’ll be honest, a lot of these are blogs belong to my friends, but not all of them. I’m thrilled that so many people I know have quite successful blogs with 200+ followers, so I’m sorry if you know me and are not on this list, but it’s probably because you’ve already got some momentum. I also am a bit embarrassed to say that I don’t follow that many lesser-followed blogs, but here are a few that I do follow:

  1. Another Design Blog– I love Kathy’s eye for design. Her tastes are quite similar to mine and I’m almost always inspired by her posts.
  2. The Nuerotic Nomad – Julia is a thoughtful and artful lady. I love reading about her world travels.
  3. Calgary Kid Critic – a lovely little lady with extraordinary writing.
  4. Baking Bing – A connection over a mutual love of cupcakes was found with Omaha based Michelle. She makes pretty sweet cupcakes.
  5. Incandescent Cloud – Caitlind and Wayne are some of the nicest, most enthusiastic and most creative people I know. Since premiering CLOUD in September of 2012, they’ve taken the piece to Moscow and Prague as well as done a unique installation of it at Progress Bar in Chicago.
  6. The Incredible Kaleidophonic – S.D. was one of my very first followers. Based in Montreal he shares some of the coolest stuff about sound.
  7. Susan’s Lipstick – Emily is incredibly thoughtful and a really good writer to boot. She used to do a self-titled blog on WordPress but has since replaced it with Susan’s Lipstick. Already, she’s written some incredible pieces that you should check out.
4 comments on “The Liebster Blog Award

  1. Emily
    October 23, 2013

    Aw, thanks, Kat!!! =D

    • kahht
      October 24, 2013

      You deserve it!

  2. Casey Lindberg-Coghill
    October 24, 2013

    I love how much thought you put into this post! I think it’s perfectly acceptable that you would eat cake every day. Why limit yourself to one type with your response? 😉 After a tragic experience at Lake Superior as a kid, I am also totally freaked out by geese- LOL.

    • kahht
      October 24, 2013

      I, too, had a tragic experience with geese as a child, which is probably why they freak me out.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 23, 2013 by in Uncategorized and tagged , .

Popular Recipes

Enter your email address to get the latest recipes delivered fresh to your inbox.

Connect with me!

