Oh My Potluck!

Good recipes to share with friends.

The Devil Wears Potatoes

The Devil Wears PotatoesYou can’t imagine how excited I was when I found deviled potatoes on the Post Punk Kitchen. I think it’s just brilliant. If you’re vegan or not, they’re worth a try. I ended up with a recipe that tastes a bit like a bite-size potato salad – so, basically, a mouthful of yum.

I’ve never seen the movie “The Devil Wears Prada” with Meryl Streep but every time I see a GIF from the movie, I get tempted. I have no idea where my interest in fashion comes from but I love anything bizarre, expensive and totally impractical (Alexander McQueen and Iris Van Herpen … follow my pinterest board for more) and until I make millions of dollars like Lady Gaga, I’ll never wear a piece of it … or even consider it.

20130814_190732

Speaking of Miss Gaga, I must say that the fashion in her new video for “Applause” stunned me. It’s just beautiful and bold, but simple and stunning. The style choices were made by her new stylist, Brandon Maxwell, and I’m impressed.

20130814_192105

20130827_213742

Of course, I don’t have a gazillion bucks, so I tend towards the quirky cute styles of Japan and Hong Kong. I love going to Chinatown to pick out oversized t-shirts and baggy pants with bold patterns. I feel like I’m getting a bit old for this kind of stuff but it’s still fun, and it works on weekends and vacations.

20130815_072728

While Miss Solange Knowles won my heart with her style in “Losing You” late in 2012, I think for this recipe I’m going to share a more recent discovery, Tricot. They are a four‑piece shoegaze-rock group from Kyoto, Japan and have absolutely darling street style. Shout out to my friend Chris for sharing their video for “Ochansensu-su” with me.

The Devil Wears Potatoes

(Inspired by The Post Punk Kitchen)

Makes a dozen hor d’oeuvres.

  • 6 small thin-skinned potatoes, like Yukon Gold, the more egg-shaped, the better
  • 1/4 cup olive oil, divided
  • 1 teaspoon salt, divided
  • 85 grams cashews (about 1/2 cup), soaked in broth for at least 2 hours
  • 1/2 small onion, chopped (about 2/3 cup)
  • 2 teaspoons fresh lemon juice
  • 1 tablespoon stone ground mustard
  • A dash of hot sauce
  • A big pinch black pepper

For garnish:

  • Sweet paprika
  • Fresh dill
  1. Preheat oven to 350˚F (175˚C). Line a rimmed baking sheet with aluminum foil.
  2. Slice potatoes lengthwise, coat with olive oil, sprinkle with ½ teaspoon sea salt and place on baking sheet, cut-side down. Bake for 30 minutes, until potatoes are tender.
  3. In the meantime, drain the cashews and place them in the blender with the onion, salt, lemon juice, mustard, pepper and hot sauce. Blend until completely smooth, scraping the sides with a spatula to make sure you get everything. This could take 1 to 5 minutes depending on the strength of your blender.
  4. When potatoes are tender, remove from the oven. When cool enough to handle, but still hot, scoop out a rounded teaspoon of potato from the center, leaving about 1/4 inch lining of potato inside.
  5. Place the scooped‑out potato into a mixing bowl and mash until smooth. It’s important that they’re still warm so that they mash well. Add the cashew mixture, remaining salt and black pepper. Continue to mash until well incorporated. Chill in the fridge for about half an hour so that the mixture stiffens up.
  6. Scoop a few teaspoons of the mixture into each potato, use a pastry bag to achieve a more fancy look. Sprinkle with paprika and top with a sprig of dill. Keep chilled until ready to serve.
Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 10, 2013 by in Appetizer & Noms, Vegan and tagged , , , , , , .

Popular Recipes

Enter your email address to get the latest recipes delivered fresh to your inbox.

Connect with me!

