Oh My Potluck!

Good recipes to share with friends.

Whatever Root Beer Floats Your Boat Cupcakes

root beer cupcakesWhat says summer like root beer floats and swimming pools? Well, summer may be on its way out, but this cupcake will bring you summer sweetness at any time.

 

Besides, who turns the oven on in summer? Well, I did, because I made these for my BFF’s birthday that falls in the middle of summer. But, I made them in the very late evening and we ate them at midnight so the nighttime coolness poured in. The best part is that there’s no seasonal fruit so you really can make it whenever.

20130724_184356

I never have root beer in my fridge. I stopped drinking soda pop when I was in University. Now it gives me such a tummy ache. Thus, I never buy it. So, it was weird to have pop in the refrigerator and no idea what to do with it. A sad story made better by delicious cupcakes. Cupcakes save the day.

20130724_185804

I have to apologize to my Canadian friends on this post and probably people elsewhere, too. Root beer concentrate was incredibly difficult to find in my Western Canadian corner of the globe. I picked up a bottle when I was in the States, but yeesh, what’s up with that? Luckily, the Internet comes to the rescue. I’m sure if you want it, you can order a bottle online, like from McCormick. There are really no substitutes that I know of, but if you have any suggestions let me know in the comments.

20130724_190557

20130724_204029

Also, let me know some good recipes that use root beer concentrate! I have an entire bottle of the stuff and I’d love to try something exciting, like ice cream, truffles, fudge or tacos (something crazy, people). Okay, and to all you smartalecs who are saying, “use your internet”. Well… maybe I will. But it won’t be as special as what you share with me.

20130724_205445

Today’s music video features a nifty modern dance performance and a catchy song by Foals. I listened to Foals quite a bit when I was in University; they’d just released their debut album, Antidotes, and it was fun times. “Inhaler” comes from their third full-length album, Holy Fire, and has been heating up charts around the world since it was released earlier this year.

Whatever Root Beer Floats Your Boat Cupcakes
(Ripped from Baking Bing)

Makes a dozen.

  • 1 1/8 cup all purpose flour
  • 1/4 cup dark cocoa powder
  • 1 1/4 teaspoons baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 3/4 cup brown sugar
  • 1 large egg
  • 1/2 cup and 1 tablespoon heavy whipping cream
  • 1/2 cup salted butter, melted
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 2 tablespoons sour cream
  • 2 teaspoons root beer concentrate
  • 1/3 cup root beer

Frosting

  • 3/4 cup salted butter, softened
  • 4 cups powdered sugar
  • ½ tablespoon vanilla extract
  • 2 tablespoons heavy whipping cream
  1. Preheat oven to 350˚F (175˚C). Line muffin tins with 12 cupcake liners.
  2. In a medium bowl, sift together the flour, cocoa, baking soda, and salt. Set aside.
  3. In another medium bowl, beat the egg and brown sugar together using the whisk attachment, until smooth. Add the heavy whipping cream, melted butter and vanilla. Mix on medium speed for a minute. Stir in the sour cream. Alternate stirring in the flour mixture and the root beer and root beer concentrate. Stir until combined but not over-mixed.
  4. Fill your cupcake liners about three quarters full. Bake for 15-18 minutes. Remove from muffin tins and cool completely on wire racks.

Frosting

  1. Cream the butter for 2 minutes, until light and fluffy.
  2. On the lowest speed of an electric mixer, add in the powdered sugar. Mix on medium-high speed until creamy. Add the heavy whipping cream and vanilla and mix until combined (about one minute).
  3. When cupcakes are cool, ice them in whatever decorative fashion pleases you.
Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 26, 2013 by in Cake, Sweets, Vegetarian and tagged , , , , .

Popular Recipes

Enter your email address to get the latest recipes delivered fresh to your inbox.

Connect with me!

