Oh My Potluck!

Good recipes to share with friends.

What Could Be Peanut Butter? Balls

peanutbutterballsWant something simple and cheap? Crave something sweet and a little bit salty? Need something even a child could throw together? They’re a lot like the favourite childhood Rice Krispies Square but more vegetarian friendly for their lack of marshmallows. Oh, and they’re delicious.

This is one of my go‑to recipes when I have limited time before running off to a potluck or a party. In a real pinch, I won’t even refrigerate them before dowsing them in chocolate, although they do need some chill time to make the chocolate set. The first time I made them I had twenty minutes to pull something together. I don’t even remember if I pulled out my electric mixer. They still came out a hit.

2013-08-18 13.39.40

I remember when I was a wee child and catching special cooking segments on television with food that kids could make (I seem to recall it being part of the Participaction franchise, but my memory is hazy). As a kid, the recipe I made with my mom all the time was chocolate drops. They were coconut, oat and chocolate goodness. And sugar, lots of sugar.

2013-08-18 13.45.37

It’s really strange to think that, when I was a little tyke stirring together chocolate drop cookies, my mom was the age I am now. It’s even stranger to see people who don’t look that old have kids. By that, I mean, seeing people my age have kids. As a kid I thought all parents looked old but, now that I think about it, some of them could have been near to my age and, now, that doesn’t look so old. Am I the only person who sees this?

2013-08-18 13.47.16

I find the feelings associated with milestones in life so fascinating. When I started driving a car, there was something so surreal about it all. As I grew more adult and gained more responsibility and independence I found myself constantly in awe. I documented the transition far too poorly, which is a shame because it’s a beautiful and strange stage of life that, I think, everyone has.

2013-08-18 14.31.22

Speaking of kids, parenthood and kitchens, Feeding People have a really cool song called “Big Mother”. It’s short, clocking in at two minutes, and the video is super cute:

What Could Be Peanut Butter? Balls

(Taken from Rice Krispies)

Makes about two dozen.

  • 1 cup crunchy peanut butter
  • 1/4 cup butter, softened
  • 1 cup powdered sugar
  • 2 cups crisp rice cereal
  • 1 1/2 cups semi-sweet chocolate chips
  • 2 tablespoons candy sprinkles
  • 24 or more mini-muffin paper cups
  1. In a large bowl, beat peanut butter, margarine and sugar on medium speed of electric mixer until thoroughly combined. Stir in the crisp rice cereal, mixing thoroughly. Shape large tablespoon sized amounts into balls and place in paper cups. Refrigerate for at least 30 minutes.2013-08-18 13.58.41
  2. In a double boiler (or a metal bowl placed over a pot of boiling water), melt the chocolate chips. Spoon the melted chocolate over each peanut butter ball to coat. Refrigerate until firm. Store in airtight container in refrigerator until the potluck.

2013-08-18 14.32.48

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 29, 2013 by in Quick And Easy, Sweets, Vegetarian and tagged , , , , , .

Popular Recipes

Enter your email address to get the latest recipes delivered fresh to your inbox.

Connect with me!

