Oh My Potluck!

Good recipes to share with friends.

How To Do The Monster Mashed Potatoes and Hand Chive (with Bacon and Cheese)

mashedpotatoes A miracle! Mashed potatoes that will be eaten to the last crumb and hold up great from oven to party. No, they’re not your typical potato, milk and butter style but they taste so good that I think you can forgive me.

2013-07-27 10.20.06

The day I made these potatoes, my BFF and I got to make a surprise stop at the farmers’ market after going out for breakfast at our favourite truck stop, The Blackfoot Diner. I suppose it’s one of the few non-chain truck stops I’ve been to. In typical truck stop fashion they have something that is purportedly world-famous. In this case, it is their enormous flapper pies, which are custard pies topped with meringue. In the case of this diner, the meringue lifts an impressive head length above the custard. Nonetheless, I haven’t met a single person who knows about these pies, even in Calgary. But, now you know and here’s a picture of me taken a few years ago with one of those bad boys.

4305_100391887544_7678755_n

Now, I know I have a lot of readers who are not from my near vicinity, so in all likelihood this is the first time you’ve heard of a “flapper pie”. Apparently, it’s a Western Canadian “thing” dating back to the 19th century. It’s a really easy kind of pie to make, though, that doesn’t have to be region-specific at all, so let’s break down regional barriers and share this. Maybe one day I’ll put up a recipe, but in the meantime check out this lovely post by The Kitchen Magpie while I stop this ridiculous habit of talking about food with little or completely no relation to the recipe I am posting.

2013-07-27 12.45.39

So, we biked to the farmers’ market after breakfast (which also included a parking lot performance from the local band Jeremy Clarkson) where, along with the necessary mashed potato supplies, we found a magnificent picnic basket and fondue pot. I’m talking top quality vintage goodies (I should clarify that this farmers’ market is also a flea market). I can’t wait to take the picnic basket out. Just a week before, I had seen picnic baskets on sale at the mall for $50. This one was $20 and came with mugs, cutlery and a tablecloth. Talk about a win!

2013-07-27 13.15.32

I keep feeling like picnic season (also known as summer) is drawing to a close, but there’s still a bit of time left in summer and I can’t wait to take advantage of it all. What’s your favourite part of summer? I love the picnics, ice cream, outdoor pools, mountains, road trips and biking.

2013-07-29 18.02.03

I think this song by Niagara, called “Seals”, pretty much sums it up: The way that summer fades away and the great things about it. The song really hits that laid back mood with a charming quirky pop-ness.

How To Do The Monster Mashed Potatoes and Hand Chive (with Bacon and Cheese)

Makes about 8 side servings.

  • 8 to 12 medium Yukon gold potatoes, peeled and quartered (about 3 pounds or 1.3 kilograms)
  • 1 package (8 ounces or 250 grams) cream cheese, softened
  • 1/2 cup sour cream
  • 1/4 cup chives, minced
  • 2 tablespoons butter
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon pepper
  • 1/4 teaspoon nutmeg
  • 2 cups (8 ounces or 225 grams) Emmental/Swiss cheese, divided
  • 6 slices (3 ounces or 90 grams) bacon, cooked, crumbled, divided (optional)
  • 3 tablespoons green onions, sliced
  1. Place the potatoes in a large saucepan and cover with water. Bring to a boil. Reduce heat; cover and cook for 15-20 minutes or until tender. Drain.
  2. In a large bowl, beat cream cheese and sour cream until smooth. Add potatoes; beat until light and fluffy. Beat in the butter, salt, pepper, and nutmeg. Stir in the 1 ½ cups Emmental cheese, chives and bacon, if desired. Spoon the mixture into a greased 2 1/2 quart casserole dish. Cover and refrigerate overnight.
  3. Remove from the refrigerator 30 minutes before baking and preheat oven to 350ºF (175˚C). If an oven is available at the potluck location you can bake it there, but be sure to check beforehand.
  4. Top the mashed potatoes with the remaining ½ cup of cheese and green onions. Bake for 40 to 45 minutes or until heated. If the cheese begins to brown too much, cover.

2013-07-29 18.55.51

4 comments on “How To Do The Monster Mashed Potatoes and Hand Chive (with Bacon and Cheese)

  1. Rae C
    August 15, 2013

    Who is that in the picture with you? I was expecting to see a different BFF.

    • kahht
      August 17, 2013

      That’s a friend of mine from back in University days.

  2. Lokness
    August 16, 2013

    My husband an I both love mashed potatoes. The loaded ones are even better. I bet yours is absolutely delicious! Yum!

    • kahht
      August 17, 2013

      Potatoes are such a staple to, well, life. I love doing them up in all different ways.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 15, 2013 by in Side Dish and tagged , , , , .

Popular Recipes

Enter your email address to get the latest recipes delivered fresh to your inbox.

Connect with me!

