Oh My Potluck!

Good recipes to share with friends.

Home Is Where The Sweet Red Pepper Tart Is

Home Is Where the Sweet Red Pepper Tart Is

It’s done; I finally made a roasted red pepper desert recipe and it turned out scrumptious, interesting, and vibrant. In fact, I deem it the perfect recipe to celebrate Oh My Potluck’s first birthday. That’s right. About one year ago I launched this pet project of mine. Since then, I’ve posted some 55 recipes and six pages with potluck tips. Man, it has been swell.

This seems like a great time to thank all the people who put up with me, and by me, I mean my blog. Mostly I want to thank my mom for editing my posts. I try to avoid grammar and spelling errors, but those goddamned commas! They’re needed everywhere, and now I’m all self-conscious about commas. Did I use too many? Did I miss one? Commas … crazy.

2013-07-14 17.07.28

I should probably thank my BFF as well. Sometimes he helps me take pictures by holding up my white light board. He also tastes things for me; he really is my brave test-subject. I make three different versions and I blindfold him. Then I feed him each one and ask which one he likes best. Then I make sure to do this again the next day in a different order. I record the results and voila, come out with the best one (which usually is just the one I like best anyway). He also lovingly puts up with periodically enormous grocery bills and from time to time endures the hunt for the mysteriously unmarked shallots in the produce aisle when I send him on the grocery errands.

2013-07-14 17.29.20

There are tons of people out there who’ve experienced my kitchen foolery, sampled my products, asked for recipes, and encouraged me to keep going. Some of those people I know personally and some of you have just stopped by and left comments. Thank you guys. You make me blush. Every time. (Who needs commas, right?)

2013-07-14 17.27.07

There’s also my family and friends who’ve gifted me numerous wonderful kitchen tools: my mom, my sister (those lovely steel condiment bowls), my husband, my Grandmas for so many little knick knacks, gadgets and hand-me-downs, my aunt Christine, my in-laws, and my pal Geneviève. (I probably just used commas in the wrong way in that list. I think I hate commas.)

2013-07-14 17.50.09

I’d also like to send a special thanks out to Kait (aka Yuppie Love) for spreading the word about my first Oh My Potluck potluck. She does a fabulous blog that anyone who’s into potlucks, parties, DIY-ing, and/or fashion should follow. She has an amazing eye for all things retro-chic. So, yeah, you should follow that blog.

While it seems logical to throw on a song like Andrew Gold‘s “Thank You For Being A Friend”, I’m going to put on a song called “Strange Powers” by The Magnetic Fields. It sounds like summer and it’s about love, and I do love everyone and my friends and I should love my enemies as well. Seriously, it is just such a damn good song and I hope it gives everyone a really warm feeling.

2013-07-14 17.52.54

In the video you’ll see Stephin Merritt, who’s the main dude of The Magnetic Fields. He’s a remarkable man who never knew his father, lives with a weird hearing condition, and is openly gay. There’s a great documentary that came out about him a few years ago that’s named after this very song (Strange Powers).

Home Is Where The Sweet Red Pepper Tart Is

(A combination of The PPK and Dipps recipes)

  • 1/4 cup brown sugar*
  • 2 tablespoons white sugar*
  • 1/3 cup canola oil
  • 2 tablespoons milk*
  • 3/4 teaspoon tapioca flour
  • 1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
  • 3/4 cup all purpose flour
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 24 small tart shells, frozen*
  • 1 cup roasted red peppers (about 3 peppers), recipe to follow or use from jar
  • 1 cup icing sugar*
  • pinch ground nutmeg
  • 1 teaspoon lemon juice
  • 60 g pistachio nuts, chopped (about 1/2 cup)

Roasted Red Pepper

  1. Heat oven on the broil setting.
  2. De-seed the peppers and slice them down the middle. Line a baking sheet with aluminum foil, double thick (for later) and flatten the halves onto it with the skin side facing up.
  3. Broil for 10-15 minutes until the skin is blackened (it’ll take slightly longer at 400ºF instead of 450ºF).
  4. With the extra aluminum foil wrap the peppers securely and let them steam for 20-25 minutes.
  5. Use a fork to gently peel away the skin.

The Rest

  1. Mix together brown sugar, white sugar, oil, milk, and tapioca flour in a mixing bowl. Whisk vigorously for about 2 minutes, until it resembles smooth caramel. Mix in the vanilla.
  2. Sift in the flour, baking soda, and salt. Mix until well incorporated. Chill in the refrigerator for 30 minutes.
  3. Preheat oven to 375˚F (190˚C). Cook the tart shells for 12 minutes or as directed in the recipe or on the package.
  4. Blend together the prepared dough, red peppers, icing sugar, nutmeg, and lemon juice until smooth.
  5. When tart shells are finished, fill each one with the mix. Cook for another 12 minutes or so until the edge develops a bit of a skin.
  6. Remove from oven and top with pistachios, then cook for 10 minutes. Cool and store in an airtight container until ready to serve at the potluck.

* choose vegan varieties of these ingredients if need be

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 20, 2013 by in Pie, Sweets, Vegan, Vegetarian.

Popular Recipes

Enter your email address to get the latest recipes delivered fresh to your inbox.

Connect with me!

