Oh My Potluck!

Good recipes to share with friends.

Mind Over Tomatter Salad

Mind Over Tomatter SaladI guess, by some definitions, I made bruschetta. However, in a fresh-out-of-bread household. this “tomato salad” serves as a great side dish with a strong garlic touch.

A few nights ago, the dear city where I was born and have lived my entire life was struck by a torrential flood. I mean, a seriously huge flood. 100,000 people have been evacuated. There’s billions of dollars worth of damage. It’s been called the worst natural disaster ever in Canada (although I have my doubts about that claim). Having chosen an apartment across the street from the river, my building was hit pretty hard by the waters. Luckily, I’m in a third floor apartment too high to be reached. My bottom floor neighbours are not so lucky.

fresh tomatoes

My husband and I have been relocated to the suburbs, to the home where I grew up. I’ve been hanging out with my family and three darling cats. Only one of them really likes me. We bump heads together and I blow in her face, which makes her roll onto her back. Cats are so weird.

2013-06-29 19.11.14

I’m so used to the busy lifestyle of the inner city that it’s strange being somewhere so isolated, quiet and distant. I’m busying myself with lots of blogging, listening to music, board games and cuddling cats. I’ve caught up on my ever-growing to-do list. Maybe I should retreat to the suburbs more often, or perhaps I just need to make a little retreat fort in my apartment where I’m forced to get things done and sleep. I suppose my slow lifestyle also relates to the fact that the entire city’s pace has slowed down while the downtown is closed and many citizens are displaced.

2013-06-29 19.36.48

I don’t know if you’ve ever been caught in a disaster of this sort. It’s really strange. I’m looking out the window right now and there’s not a drop of water. The sun is shining. I can’t imagine that only a few days ago the two rivers that feed our city rose to unprecedented heights and destroyed thousands of homes. It’s so calm right now, it’s a surreal reality.

2013-06-29 19.40.16

The music video I share today is rather somber. The Canadian based band Majical Cloudz got one of their dads to star in the video for “Childhood’s End”. It’s a poetic reflection on life and death using nostalgic imagery. Majical Cloudz (aka Devon Welsh and Matthew Otto) released their new album Impersonator on the big indie label Matador Records. It’s lovely, sparse and worth your time if you’re into that kind of stuff.

Mind Over Tomatter Salad

Makes 10 small side servings.

  • 6 medium sized tomatoes, diced (choose a firm and meaty variety like the Better Boys)
  • 1/2 cup green olives, sliced
  • 6 teaspoons balsamic vinegar
  • 3 teaspoons olive oil
  • 1 tablespoon basil, minced
  • 1 teaspoon honey
  • 1 to 2 cloves of garlic, minced
  • pinch of pepper, or to taste
  • pinch of salt, or to taste
  1. Strain most of the liquid from the tomatoes. In a medium bowl combine the tomatoes and olives.
  2. In a small bowl, whisk together the vinegar, oil, basil, honey, garlic, pepper and salt. Pour the dressing over the tomatoes and olives and stir to coat. Store in an airtight container and bring to potluck.
Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 4, 2013 by in Appetizer & Noms, Quick And Easy, Salad and tagged , , , , , , , .

Popular Recipes

Enter your email address to get the latest recipes delivered fresh to your inbox.

Connect with me!

