Oh My Potluck!

Good recipes to share with friends.

A Little Joy for Muhammara-drum Lives

muhammaraI hope your life isn’t hum-drum, but on the off chance that it is then here’s something that will liven it up. Even if your life is the opposite of hum-drum, this recipe is still 105% guaranteed to increase your level of excitement. Either way, you can’t go wrong.

I’ve loved Muhammara ever since going to a lovely Mediterranean restaurant in Calgary called Aida’s. They use a phenomenal recipe and the result is all too easy to scarf down in seconds. Until recently, it had never occurred to me that I could create this lovely dish of Syrian origin. However, I recently picked up a dozen red peppers and found myself agonizing over what to do with so many (they were on a good sale, okay). That’s when the lightning struck!

20130608_104419

There are plenty of recipes on the internet for muhammara, but my browser insists on crashing every time I try to search for it. The number of times I’ve experienced this inconvenience almost convinces me that “muhammara” is a code word for something, similar to the word “sesame”. Maybe it opens up the mind of the internet to reveal an answer to the last question. I assure anyone who may be concerned about me disappearing after seeing the end of time, that all I really want is to enjoy the red pepper and bring you more recipes, so I’ll do my best to stay with you.

Every time I do something with red pepper I become more convinced of it’s awesomeness. I’d love to find or create a dessert that uses roasted red pepper. With a quick search on the internet I found a Sweet Red Pepper Tart. It looks interesting and, well, chancy. I’m up for it though. I’ll put my thinking cap on, trust my “gut” feelings, and see what happens. This sounds exciting. I’ll report back in later episodes of the Potluck Kitchen’s Adventures in Crazy Tastes, which doesn’t exist yet but this may be an excuse to start.

20130609_144203

Speaking of crazy things, and in a vein somewhat in line with this Syrian dish, I present a song by The Gaslamp Killer and a video by HYPERBALLAD. As you’ll see, the video features whirling Dervishes, which aren’t particular to Syria but originate from Turkey (where Gaslamp Killer has some ancestry, too). Anyway, they have muhammara in Turkey and Dervishes in Syria and this song and monochromatic video are absolutely stunning:

A Little Joy for Muhammara-drum Lives

Adapted from The Bon Appétit Test Kitchen

  • 10 ounces or 285 grams roasted red peppers, directions to follow (about 3 red peppers)
  • 1 cup walnuts
  • 1/3 cup breadcrumbs
  • 2 to 4 garlic cloves, minced and mashed to a paste with 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 3 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil
  • 2 teaspoons pomegranate molasses
  • 1 teaspoon ground cumin (optional)
  • 1 teaspoon red pepper flakes
  • Pita wedges for serving

Roasted Red Pepper

If you don’t have time to roast red peppers buy a jar of roasted red pepper.

Roasted Red Peppers

  1. Heat oven on the broil setting.
  2. De-seed the peppers and slice them down the middle. Line a baking sheet with aluminum foil, double thick (for later), and flatten the halves onto it with the skin side facing up.
  3. Broil for 10-15 minutes until the skin is blackened.
  4. With the extra aluminum foil wrap the peppers securely and let them steam for 20-25 minutes in the oven.
  5. Allow to cool, then use a fork to gently peel away the skin.

Muhammara

  1. Combine all ingredients in a blender or food processor. Blend until smooth. Serve with pita wedges.
Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 20, 2013 by in Appetizer & Noms, Quick And Easy and tagged , , , , .

Popular Recipes

Enter your email address to get the latest recipes delivered fresh to your inbox.

Connect with me!

