Oh My Potluck!

Good recipes to share with friends.

Bet Your Bottom Dollar Cupcakes

blackbottomcupcakesThis is a great recipe for icing-free cupcakes. Don’t get me wrong, I love decorating cupcakes, but if you’re in a pinch these babies are the way to go … cheesecake-like icing and rich chocolate cake all in one. Heck, these cupcakes are great even if you’re not in a pinch. The recipe that they’re based on is the “Black Bottom Cupcake” and I have a feeling it probably dates back a long way. Its simplicity is great for the basic kitchen. I decided to add a bit of flare to it, though: chocolate chips, cinnamon and wine. You know, the usual. But still, no icing. The icinglessness makes this a really, really portable dish to take to a potluck.

IMG2506

I found the original recipe at a terrific and potluck friendly blog called Baking Bing. It’s devoted to cupcakes. The chef of the blog, Michelle, brings a huge dollop of inspiring icing to the party with creative cupcake ideas. Check it out.

Õ

IMG2513

In my usual style I renamed this cupcake to have a punny name. The name I came up with, Bet Your Bottom Dollar, reminds me of this one time my mom wrapped a coin in aluminum foil and baked it into a cake. Has anyone else ever done this? Maybe you could do that here. Bake a foil-wrapped coin into just one of the cupcakes and the person who gets it wins. That would rule! You could give them a door prize, like a hummingbird made out of coconuts, but that might be kind of awful.

I, personally, am not the winning kind of person. I probably wouldn’t get the coined cupcake. You know how some people are so lucky they’re always winning little things wherever they go? And then there’s the rest of us … I’m in the latter group. I have won some neat things in my life, though, the weirdest of which was probably a giant solid chocolate Hershey kiss. It took me forever to eat and it was really hard to break up into edible chunks. But no worries, I ate it all. I ate it all because I love chocolate. So much.

Õ

Õ

Any attempt I tried to make to relate what I was just talking about to the video I’m sharing today was so miserable and non-sensical that I’m not even going to try. So, here’s a video by Vampire Weekend. It shows two SAABs being burned, which is actually pretty sweet if you even somewhat like burning things. To all SAAB lovers, I’m sorry. The people who sold these cars to the film-makers were a bit upset by the whole ordeal, understandably. The song is a ton of fun, though.

Bet Your Bottom Dollar Cupcakes

(Inspired by Baking Bing)

Makes one dozen standard sized cupcakes

  • 8 ounces cream cheese
  • 1/3 cup icing sugar
  • 1 large egg
  • 1/8 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 cup semi-sweet mini chocolate chips
  • 1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 3/4 cup dark brown sugar, packed
  • 1/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/4 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1 cup red wine
  • 1/3 cup canola oil
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  1. Preheat oven to 350˚F (175˚C). Line a 12-cup standard muffin tin with cupcake liners.
  2. In a medium bowl, beat together cream cheese, sugar, egg, and salt until smooth. Fold in chocolate chips and set aside.
  3. Sift together the flour, sugars, cocoa powder, baking soda, baking powder, salt and cinnamon. Form a well in the centre and pour in the wine, oil and vanilla extract. Mix until just combined. Do not overmix.
  4. Divide the batter evenly among the lined muffin tins. To finish, divide the cream cheese mixture evenly on top of the batter with a couple dollops per cupcake. Bake for 20 to 25 minutes until a toothpick comes out clean from the cake part. Cool on a wire rack and take to the potluck just like that.

IMG2529

4 comments on “Bet Your Bottom Dollar Cupcakes

  1. michelle bingham
    June 6, 2013

    Great idea on the wine addition!

    • kahht
      June 6, 2013

      I love wine! And cheese. Wine and cheese is gold.

  2. Sophie33
    June 8, 2013

    Waw! These little cakes look amazing, tasty & alternative too! 🙂 Yummmm!

    • kahht
      June 8, 2013

      I had a dream about them the other night… I’ll have to make them again soon. But, I’m always so stoked to try new things that sometimes “soon” is quite a while in the end.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 6, 2013 by in Cake, Sweets, Vegetarian and tagged , , , .

Popular Recipes

Enter your email address to get the latest recipes delivered fresh to your inbox.

Connect with me!

