Oh My Potluck!

Good recipes to share with friends.

That’s All She Rotini Pasta Salad (With Artichoke Dressing)

That's All She Rotini Pasta Salad (with Artichoke Dressing)For huge potlucks pasta salad is a rather cost-effective and quick dish to prepare. I was looking through some  recipe books and blogs for ideas and was bored by the mayonnaise-based dressings they offered. I remembered the artichoke dip I made back in January and decided to work from there. The result is really stunning!

Artichokes and basil really make this pasta something super special. The flavour locks into the curls of the rotini to explode like a firework into the eater’s mouth. Yum!

The dressing also works great on its own. If you do plan on making it for green leafy salads, I would recommend using yogurt instead of sour cream so it comes out less thick, but it’s up to you.

At first, I was hesitant about putting tomatoes in this recipe. I usually shovel cherry tomatoes onto the plate of my BFF, who loves the things. They’re enjoyable in some specific applications, but I really wasn’t sure about this one. Every time I saw “tomatoes” in my notes I came within millimeters of deleting it before saying to myself, “just give it a try”. So I did, and once they hit the artichoke dressing, my restlessness was cured.

’

Well, most of my restlessness. If only it was that easy: Artichoke Dressing Cures Restlessness, New Study Finds. So until that gets discovered, I guess I’ll just keep doing a million things at once and tapping my foot all the time because I can’t sit still (at least I’ve gotten better about keeping still in movie theatres).

’

In today’s musical exploration let me introduce you to Melody Prochet, the lead lady of French psych-pop band Melody’s Echo Chamber. Not only is the sound of her band a delightfully candy-coloured ‘60s hue (helped along by producer Kevin Parker of the band Tame Impala), but the style she brings to it is the epitome of Paris. Just watch the video for Crystallized to see what I mean (like the last one, it won’t let me embed it so you’ll have to jump over to YouTube).

’

That’s All She Rotini Pasta Salad (With Artichoke Dressing)

Makes about 30 side helpings.

  • 700 grams (1 1/2 pounds) dry rotini pasta
  • 1 jar (340 liquid milliliter / 12 fluid ounce) marinated artichoke hearts, drained, liquid reserved
  • 1/2 cup mayonnaise
  • 1/2 cup sour cream
  • 1 teaspoon white wine vinegar
  • 1/4 cup packed fresh basil leaves
  • 2 cloves garlic
  • freshly ground black pepper, to taste
  • 2 medium carrots, diced (about 1 cup)
  • 1 red bell pepper, diced (about 1 cup)
  • 1 yellow bell pepper, diced (about 1 cup)
  • 3/4 cup cherry tomatoes, halved
  • 1/2 small red onion, minced and divided (about 3/4 cup)
  • 1/2 cup green olives, sliced
  1. Bring about 2 litres (2 quarts) of water and a tablespoon of salt to a boil. Add the rotini pasta and boil until al dente or desired firmness (about 8 to 10 minutes). Drain and rinse with cool water. Set aside to cool.
  2. Combine the artichoke hearts, mayonnaise, sour cream, vinegar, basil, garlic, pepper, 1/4 cup minced red onion and 1/3 cup liquid from the artichoke hearts in a food processor or good blender. Blend until smooth.
  3. Combine the pasta and artichoke dressing with the rest of the ingredients. Toss to combine until everything is coated. Keep in a sealed bowl and serve within a week.

Õ

2 comments on “That’s All She Rotini Pasta Salad (With Artichoke Dressing)

  1. Lokness
    April 26, 2013

    This pasta salad looks good. I am drawn to your blog by your art works. They are great and cute! I am glad to find your blog.

    • kahht
      April 26, 2013

      Thanks for visiting and taking a peak around. Hope you find some more tasty dishes to try.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 14, 2013 by in Pasta, Quick And Easy, Salad, Vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , .

Popular Recipes

Enter your email address to get the latest recipes delivered fresh to your inbox.

Connect with me!

