Oh My Potluck!

Good recipes to share with friends.

Keen On Green Salad

quinoi

I am utterly surprised that I have not posted a quinoa recipe yet. I found this one on the top of a mountain (perhaps it was a mountain pass). After a long day hike this was the most delicious thing, served in the Lake Louise tea house.

Because the tea house is in a mountain pass, or on the top of a mountain, they can’t haul in too many supplies; and they don’t have electricity so they don’t use too many ingredients that can perish.

Well, I cheated a bit. I used fresh herbs and feta, which I don’t remember being part of the salad in the tea house. I think I pulled off a close facsimile none the less.

IMG1769

I love the simplicity of the final product, with so many excellent flavours coming together. It’s like the party you take to the party. Yup, I just said that and I’ll say it again. The party you take to the party.

IMG1785

I was looking back at some of my early posts the other day and noticed how terrible my photography was. Don’t even look. In an effort to improve my crappy smartphone pictures I made myself a sort of reflective light board. I have also started using the sun. In the near future I might make some DIY EGO lights with vellum, cardboard and a cheap shop light. But for now it’s all about middle-of-the-day cooking, catching reflections with aluminum foil pasted to foam core board, and trying to diffuse the light coming through my window with extra window covering material from IKEA. Fun times.

If you’re interested in learning some good photographic techniques without forking over a ton of money for a camera and classes, check out Brynn Cahalan’s awesome Instructable on the topic.

IMG1787

I never thought I’d be interested in photography. It frustrates me because I was never good at it. I got past the chopping people’s heads off phase and I’m getting into the “good lighting” phase, so really it only gets better. I’ll never be an Ansel Adams, Nobuyoshi Araki or Solve Sundsbo and that is okay. It’s not my calling on this planet; I can deal.

Before getting on to the recipe let’s put on some good music for the mountains:


Watch here or on youtube.

Keen On Green Salad

Makes 15 or so potluck sides.

  • 1 1/2  Cups quinoa
  • 3 cups water
  • 1 1/3 cup peas (frozen, canned or freshly podded)
  • 1/2 cup coarsely torn flat-leaf parsley
  • 3 tablespoons torn dill
  • 2 tablespoons mint, finely chopped
  • 1/4 cup fresh squeezed lemon juice (about 1 lemon)
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 1/2 teaspoon black pepper
  • 2/3 cup crumbled feta (90 grams or 3 ounces of feta)
  1. Put quinoa and water into a saucepan and bring to a boil. Cover and simmer on low heat for 10 minutes. Turn off heat and leave covered on burner for 6 minutes. Remove from heat and toss with fork. Transfer to sealable serving bowl. Allow to cool uncovered in fridge for about an hour.
  2. Add the rest of the ingredients to the quinoa and toss. Seal bowl and take to potluck.
2 comments on “Keen On Green Salad

  1. The Healthy Flavor
    March 2, 2013

    I love this! I live off quinoa! I love the mint and lemon juice…looks delicious!

    • kahht
      March 6, 2013

      It’s simple and delicious. Let me know if you try something like it and how you like it.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 2, 2013 by in Autumn, Salad, Side Dish, Vegetarian and tagged , , , , .

Popular Recipes

Enter your email address to get the latest recipes delivered fresh to your inbox.

Connect with me!

