Oh My Potluck!

Good recipes to share with friends.

Lost in Sautéed Broccoli and Garlic Salad

Lost in Sauteed Broccoli and Garlic SaladI love my broccoli salads. For a long time I relied on my tried and true broccoli salad with grapes, sunflower seeds, apples and a mayonnaise-vinegar-sugar dressing. Oh man, that is delicious!  I really have to post that one someday because it has received rave reviews all over the place. The nerve of me to leave it out.

IMG1657

On this sort of day when the sun is bright and shining outside but the temperature made it rather nippy all I want to do is soak up the rays through a shield of glass or two. And the conditions make it perfect for food photography. If you have glanced around the site at all you may notice that I’m rather amateur at the shutter. I don’t have a nice corner of my kitchen with bright lights and reflective umbrellas. It’s just a one woman deal here working in a small apartment with what I have discovered to be terrible lighting. I make do with what I have and I’ve learned that the cloudless sunshine of late morning/early afternoon is my best friend.

So on a day like today where I have very little to do and no inclination to brave the cold I create!

IMG1591

I honestly expected to make this “toasty” salad very similar to my other favourite broccoli salad with seeds and raisins. I held those raisins in my hand for some time staring at the garlic and shallot I already had sitting out. It just didn’t seem right. Then sunflower seeds just seemed boring when I pulled them out past the almonds. So, voila! I kept the sunflower oil to give it a little hint of the old but that’s about all that’s stayed the same.

And, some excellent brock-oli to accompany your cooking escapade  Do you see what I did there? Broccoli totally loves to rock, so it’s bROCKoli. Wait, that’s a damn good pun.


Watch here or on youtube.

Lost in Sautéed Broccoli and Garlic Salad

  • 2 tablespoons slivered almonds
  • 2 tablespoons sunflower oil, plus more as needed
  • 5 cloves garlic, thinly sliced (about 2 tablespoons)
  • 2 shallots, thinly sliced (about a 1/2 cup)
  • 4 cups broccoli florets (about 2 heads of broccoli)
  • 1 tablespoon plus 2 teaspoons fresh lemon juice (about half a lemon)
  • 1/2 teaspoon crushed red pepper
  • A dash of pepper, or to taste
  1. Toast the almonds in a large frying pan over medium-high heat until fragrant, about 4 minutes. Remove and allow to cool.
  2. Heat 1 tablespoon sunflower oil in the pan. Add garlic and shallots. Sauté until browned, about 4 minutes. Remove and cool.
  3. Heat the rest of the sunflower oil in the pan. Add the broccoli and cook until tender and starting to brown, about 8 minutes. Remove and cool to room temperature.
  4. Mix together the lemon juice, crushed red pepers and pepper. Pour over the broccoli. Toss with almonds, garlic and shallots in a sealable serving bowl. Cool for 10 minutes, cover and bring to potluck.
Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 16, 2013 by in Salad, Side Dish, Vegan, Vegetarian and tagged , , , , .

Popular Recipes

Enter your email address to get the latest recipes delivered fresh to your inbox.

Connect with me!

