Oh My Potluck!

Good recipes to share with friends.

Lavender Is All You Need Cookies (With Honey)

Lavender is all you needYes, Valentine’s Day is fast approaching. I’m not a huge fan of the tradition. Probably because I got stood up for three Valentine’s Days in a row during my formative years preceding adult-hood. However, I do love baking sweet and delicious treats for people that I love. And I do love my friends and love showing them my feelings. Valentine’s Day is the perfect excuse to bake stuff for them.

Lavender is all You Need Ingredients

Lavender has supposedly been used throughout history in medicinal recipes to encourage love and passion (as well as cure insanity… whatever) so it’s a great fit for this time of year. I don’t think lavender has ever worked as a love potion for me but nor has anything else. I don’t know what that says about me but I think it says more about the foolishness of love potions.

Lavender is all You Need Ingredients

I had bought a bag of “culinary” lavender for cheap at an organic food store several years ago to try a lavender cookie recipe. The bag was filled with lavender buds and plenty of small sticks and leaves. I even found a seed pod today while sorting through it. I like to think the typical hour I spend sifting through the lavender shows my love for whomever is receiving these cookies. Let this be a warning to whomever goes to buy lavender: look for lavender that is ready to use. I now understand why I got the stuff so cheap.

Lavender is all You Need Raw

I remember the first time I made these for Valentine’s Day I didn’t have a heart shaped cookie cutter. In fact, I don’t think I had ANY cookie cutters. Now I have a dozen or so (including yoda, R2D2, a cat and the other common cookie shapes). My solution was to cut a heart from paper, put it on top of the dough and use a paring knife to cut out hearts. It actually worked well, which is why I’m sharing this. It opens up a world of cookie shape possibilities. Want to make a robot cookie? Not a problem. A zombie? Easy. An anatomically correct heart? Well, don’t get too out of hand. Even cookies have limits.

Lavender is all You Need Cooling

There’ll definitely be more romantic baking ideas coming your way, wether you save them for just two or take them to a large potluck is up to you. Heck, I don’t care if you eat them all yourself. This is a good simple one to get started on though.

IMG1715

As you might suspect the playlists I’ll have to accompany all the recipes will be love related. Love is probably the most written about theme in music. Love and heartbreak. Making these playlists for you will be no problem, except for the fact that I tend toward liking the heartbreak songs more myself than the love songs. I’ll do my best. Because I love you.

Watch above or on youtube.

Lavender Is All You Need Cookies (With Honey)

Makes 2 dozen cookies

  • 3/4 cup unsalted butter, softened
  • 3/8 cup honey (6 tablespoons)
  • 1/2 cup white sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 3/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 1/2 tablespoons culinary lavender
  • 2 tablespoons confectioner’s sugar (for dusting)
  1. Cream butter and sugar. Beat in honey until smooth and creamy. Add egg and vanilla and beat until well combined.
  2. Sift in the flour, baking powder and salt. Add lavender and stir until the dough forms a ball. Wrap the dough in saran wrap and refrigerate for at least an hour.
  3. Preheat oven to 325˚F.
  4. Take the chilled dough out of refrigerator and turn out onto a floured surface. Roll out to 1/4″-1/2″ or 1 centimeter thick. Cut hearts out of the dough, use a metal spatula to lift the shapes off the surface and place on an un-greased cookie sheet. You don’t need to leave much room between the cookies as they won’t spread, just a thumb width should do the trick.
  5. Bake in the preheated oven for about 8 minutes until just lightly browned around the edges. Allow to cool on the pan for a couple minutes then cool the cookies completely on a wire rack. Store in an airtight container and take to the potluck.
One comment on “Lavender Is All You Need Cookies (With Honey)

  1. Pingback: Chocolate Full Of Love Vegan Cupcakes « Oh My Potluck!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 3, 2013 by in Cookies, Vegetarian, Winter and tagged , , , .

Popular Recipes

Enter your email address to get the latest recipes delivered fresh to your inbox.

Connect with me!

