Oh My Potluck!

Good recipes to share with friends.

Triple Punch Cookies (With Oats, Chocolate Chips and Pecans)

triplepunch‘Tis the season for cookies – actually, ’tis always the season for cookies and these ones have a special burst of orange flavour. At first I found it surprising, even “wrong” but not actually bad, just different and that’s okay. I’m sure they’ll have an overwhelmingly positive reception at your next potluck.

Like every oat-containing cookie I like to trick myself into thinking they’re a bit healthy. As such I allow myself to have one after a workout with a tall glass of milk. I see it as much as motivation as repair. Don’t be fooled, these babies are loaded with butter and sugar. Feed them to your friends to fatten them up for next Christmas dinner… or just because they’re delicious and will make people fall in love with you. Motives are different from person to person, I get it.

four punch ingredients

I brought these over to Christmas dinner with some delicious vegan ice cream I made with my lovely new Kitchenaid Ice Cream Maker. The cookies made the sea saltiness of the ice cream really pop out. Fun fact. Cookies and ice cream are such a great idea, however ice cream doesn’t carry to potlucks well so I’m just shooting for an opportunity to share that recipe and it worked. Ta-da.

batter

four punch pre cook

I realized I haven’t actually posted too many cookie recipes on here, which is astounding because I bake cookies a lot. I got a great vegan cookie cookbook for Christmas so I’ll have to try some of those and learn some vegan cookie baking skills to come up with some other stellar recipes. Perhaps I’ll even try to do some gluten-free ones. I feel really terrible that celiacs can’t have cookies, I love cookies and I want to bring their joy to everyone in the world!

Another thing that I love is wrestling, boxing isn’t too far off but a bit more serious in my opinion. Since the recipe is called “Triple Punch” I figured I might as well compile some videos with boxing in them or vids for songs about boxing. It’s a bit of a scattered playlist for this reason but has some gems for sure.


Watch above or watch on youtube.

Triple Punch Cookies 
From Katy Sparks and Andrea Strong (Via Smitten Kitchen)

Makes about 3 dozen cookies

  • 1 1/2 cups flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground nutmeg
  • 1/8 teaspoon ground cloves
  • 1/2 cup unsalted butter, at room temperature (4 ounces or 137 grams)
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 1 cup light brown sugar, firmly packed
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 cup quick-cooking oats
  • 2 cups chopped pecans
  • 2 teaspoons freshly grated orange zest
  • 2 cups semisweet chocolate chips (12 ounces or 340 grams)
  1. Preheat oven to 350°F. Line a large cookie sheet with parchment.
  2. Sift together the flour, baking soda, cinnamon, nutmeg, and clove in a medium bowl.
  3. In a large bowl and using an electric mixer, beat the butter until light and fluffy. Add both sugars, salt, and vanilla, and beat until well mixed, about three minutes. Stir in eggs, one at a time.  Add half of the flour mixture to the butter with the mixer on low speed. Once the flour has been incorporated, add the second half. Stir in the oats, pecans, orange zest, and chocolate chips.
  4. Drop the dough, by the tablespoon, onto the cookie sheet and bake for 10 to 12 minutes or until golden. Remove from the oven and cool the cookies on a rack. Store in an airtight container to bring to potluck.
5 comments on “Triple Punch Cookies (With Oats, Chocolate Chips and Pecans)

  1. The Healthy Flavor
    December 30, 2012

    Thank you so much for mentioning my Chocolate Peppermint Ice Cream! That means so much to me and those cookies look sooo good!! You mentioned Vegan baking..everything on my blog is Vegan and I also have a lot of gluten free recipes too, cookies and desserts 🙂
    Thanks again and happy new year!!

    • kahht
      December 30, 2012

      I just noticed your gluten free shortbread recipe. I’ll have to poke around a lot more. I’m really looking forward to trying your truffles as well. I think I’ll make them today. I love your blog.

  2. Rae C
    December 30, 2012

    The Kitchenaid link didn’t work for me. I found this one http://www.kitchenaid.com/product/KICA0WH.uts?noFlash=true.

    • kahht
      December 30, 2012

      Fixed!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on December 30, 2012 by in Cookies, Sweets, Vegetarian and tagged , , , , .

Popular Recipes

Enter your email address to get the latest recipes delivered fresh to your inbox.

Connect with me!

