Oh My Potluck!

Good recipes to share with friends.

Captain Crunchy’s Colourful Chow

cole chow

First off, I admit that the name of this recipe is more funny than really appropriate for this slaw-like, asian-inspired salad. It’s fun though and I really do hate boring recipe titles that list off the ingredients like “Pepper, Peas, Sprouts and Chow Mein Asian Cole Slaw” or “Ginger-Sesame Cole Slaw With Chow Mein Noodles.” Boring. In my world you get super weird names like “Captain Crunchy’s Colourful Chow.” I think it’s descriptive because it is crunchy and colourful. It also uses alliteration and a pun so it totally works.

I don’t know if John Draper or the fictional sea cap’n of the Good Ship Guppy would have eaten this. The latter probably only eats sugary children’s cereal with milk and the former, I just don’t know. Maybe Don Draper would eat this at a dinner party though. I imagine so.

chow ingredients

ingredients in bowl

finished salad

I had a dish similar to this at a wedding I was at. It was a potluck wedding and I just loved this salad. I’d never had anything like it. I scoured the internet for anything similar but to no avail so I re-invented it myself. The original recipe had Ichiban/Ramen noodles in it but I opted to leave those out as they’re not really my thing. Feel free to play around with the recipe all you like. I imagine carrots and peanuts would be fantastic additions.

ginger salt dressing

This wedding I mentioned was actually one I was DJing at and the couple had asked for lots of Bhangra and techno. It’s an amazing combo of music really and as such the soundtrack for this recipe is inspired by the music of the wedding.


Watch above or on Youtube.

I’d actually really like to learn some punjabi dance moves. Before the dance actually began they had a bit of a friends and family talent show (which was amazing and something I’d highly recommend to people planning a wedding). One girl did a punjabi dance; I don’t know what it was exactly but she was very good and I felt inspired. I think it’s mostly the bangles and bright colours that draw me in. I’m like a real cat that way, shine something at me and I’m after it.

Captain Crunchy’s Colourful Chow

Makes about 20 sides.

  • 4 cups shredded cabbage (nappa cabbage is best but green or purple will work too)
  • 2 cups sliced sweet peppers (about 3 small red, yellow and/or orange peppers)
  • 1 1/2 cups snow peas, lightly steamed (170g or 6 ounces)
  • 2 cups bean sprouts
  • 1/2 cup green onion, finely chopped
  • 2 1/2 cups chow mein noodles, uncooked (100g or 3 1/2 ounces)
  • 3 tablespoons sesame seeds, toasted

Dressing

  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 tablespoons fresh ginger root, minced
  • 1/4 cup soy sauce
  • 3 tablespoons rice vinegar
  • 1/4 cup olive oil
  • 2 tablespoons sesame oil
  • 2 tablespoons honey
  1. Toss together the cabbage, peppers, peas, sprouts and onions. Carefully toss in the noodles and sesame seeds.
  2. For the dressing whip all ingredients together.
  3. An hour before serving the chow toss the vegetables and dressing together giving the chow mein noodles a bit of a chance to soften. If you want to keep the crunchiness then either keep the dressing separate or add it at the last moment.
Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on December 30, 2012 by in Salad, Side Dish, Vegan, Vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , .

Popular Recipes

Enter your email address to get the latest recipes delivered fresh to your inbox.

Connect with me!

