Oh My Potluck!

Good recipes to share with friends.

I See Red Pepper and Garlic Hummus

hummusThis is a divine hummus recipe that does require a little more work than your average chickpea, lemon and tahini concoction but you will be so glad you did it. If you love garlic you’ll also have some delicious roasted garlic to munch on in the process. In the end you’ll have a really generous and scrumptious dip for a party.

hummus ingredients

With the red pepper flakes (or cayenne pepper if you prefer) this recipe can come off with a bite. Nobody in my sample audience found it to be too much though so I take that as a good sign. A little kick never hurt nobody. I think the only unfortunate side of this is it doesn’t go with grapes or apples as well as less spicy hummuses do.

roasted peppers

Now, I suppose if you’re so inclined you can buy prepared roasted red pepper and garlic from the store. As could you also buy prepared tahini but I prefer to go the “pioneer” root and DIM (do it myself). For one, I’m convinced this is cheaper and two, I like to have a pretty good idea of where everyone’s been nosing around. And by everyone I mean my vegetables (and seeds). Maybe they were up to some shenanigans in the vegetable patch but that’s their own teenage love story I have no business snooping into. These veggies are adults now and for some reason I have absolute control over them and want to know where they are. That analogy degraded quickly, sorry. The point is, making your own stuff feels good and tastes fresh (not fresh like those teenage vegetables mind you).

The one thing I hate doing myself is peeling vegetables, especially potatoes. I got a great ceramic peeler for Christmas and while it is a miracle to the kitchen here it’s still not as good as a pack of pre-peeled potatoes would be. Too bad the only pre-peeled potatoes are canned and taste like ass (aka metal). Oh well, I peel.

hummus blender

I think hummus is one of the most amazing condiments ever created. It’s healthy, hearty and tastes good with practically anything. Like most hummuses this one works great with pita (toasted or fresh), which also happens to be relatively quick and easy to prepare and bring to a party. I love hummus on vegetables. Being that this one is a bit spicy consider serving it with carrots, cucumbers, sweet bell peppers, firm lettuce leaves (butter lettuce works great), or mild onions. I bet it would also be good on corn tortilla chips too. Experiment and let me know.

Watch above or on Youtube.

The name of the recipe was more inspired by the Split Enz than the common phrase so I started off my playlist with “I See Red” by the Split Enz and went with some other stuff that falls into that category of fun. Man, that video is so amazing. I’ve taken to setting up my laptop on my DJ stand while cooking so I can watch videos and cook at the same time. I also feel like I have some retro-futuristic dream kitchen where a 1950s house wife easily watches her favourite soap operas while preparing the family’s dinner. So sweet… except I have never watched a soap in my life.

I See Red Pepper and Garlic Hummus

Great as a side for a party of 15-20 people

  • 6-8 roasted garlic cloves, to taste (directions below)
  • 3/4 cups roasted red pepper (1-2 peppers, directions below)
  • 1 1/2 cups chickpeas, soaked and ready to use
  • 2 tablespoons tahini (grind 2 tablespoons roasted sesame seeds, 1/2 teaspoon sesame oil and 1/4 teaspoon lemon juice)
  • 2 tablespoons fresh squeezed lemon (about 1/2 a lemon)
  • 2 tablespoons chickpea liquid or water
  • 3/4 teaspoon red pepper flakes, ground (or to taste)
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 2-3 tablespoons olive oil
  • paprika, to garnish

Roasted Garlic

  1. Preheat oven to 400ºF.
  2. Peel away the outer skin of the garlic bulb while leaving the skin of each individual clove intact. With a sharp knife cut off the top of the bulb to reveal the meaty tops of each bulbs, you’ll be cutting away 1/4″ to 1/2″ (0.5-1.25 cm).
  3. Place the bulb on the shiny side of a square of aluminum foil. Drizzle 1-2 tablespoons of olive oil over the cloves and rub it in with your fingers to ensure each clove gets some. Wrap in the aluminum foil. Bake 25-30 minutes so that the cloves get soft and slightly browned. Open up the aluminum foil at the top and allow to broil for an addition 5-10 minutes until lightly browned. Allow to cool before popping the cloves out with a knife and fork.

Roasted Red Pepper

You can prepare the roasted red pepper along with the garlic.

  1. Heat oven on the broil setting (at 400ºF if you’re working with garlic).
  2. De-seed the peppers and slice them down the middle. Line a baking sheet with aluminum foil, double thick (for later) and flatten the halves onto it with the skin side facing up.
  3. Broil for 10-15 minutes until the skin is blackened (it’ll take slightly longer at 400ºF instead of 450ºF).
  4. With the extra aluminum foil wrap the peppers securely and let them steam for 20-25 minutes.
  5. Use a fork to gently peel away the skin.

Hummus

  1. Place the roasted garlic, roasted red pepper, chickpeas, tahini, lemon juice and liquid into a food processor and blend until smooth and creamy.
  2. Gradually add in the ground red pepper flakes and salt, stopping to taste as you go.
  3. Store in an airtight container for at most 5 days, but be warned that this is so delicious it may not survive until your potluck if you make it too early.  To serve, drizzle with a good quality olive oil and garnish with paprika.
Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on December 29, 2012 by in Appetizer & Noms, Dip, Vegan, Vegetarian and tagged , , , , .

Popular Recipes

Enter your email address to get the latest recipes delivered fresh to your inbox.

Connect with me!

