Oh My Potluck!

Good recipes to share with friends.

All Artichoke-d Up Dip

artichoke dipYou can’t beat a recipe this simple and tasty. It takes no time to whip (or blend) up and tastes like a miracle. Seriously, if you’re in a crunch for a good party treat this recipe will do the trick. Just make sure you give it at least four hours in the fridge (man, it sucks not reading directions first, eh). Confession: I totally tasted it before tucking it in the cold-box and it tasted fine but it did improve after the tastes mingled a bit.

Instead of using fennel to serve the dip on I just went for some fig crackers, which worked remarkably well although I can appreciate how excellent fennel would taste with this dip. Like most dips it will go with a lot of different things, why don’t you let me know what you’ve put it on!

choke dip ingredients

Along with fennel bulbs I completely forgot fresh parsley at the supermarket as well. You know what? Winter makes it tough to get nice lively looking fresh things so bare with me. Another thing winter does: make me not want to run to the store after warming up my poor digits. Sure, it was probably the first sunny day we’ve had in a week here in town (as shown by the above picture)  but I still got very rosy cheeks from having to walk so slow with my recovering ankle.

Speaking of recovering ankles, I’ve found recently a lot of elderly folks stopping to talk to me. Yes, I know, I walk slower than you and limp, okay. Yesterday a nice, older man stopped to ask me if I was alright. As usual I told him of my ankle surgery a couple months ago and that I was actually doing a lot better, just slow. He happily wished me all the best and sped away while I suffered biting frost collecting on my eyelashes and working its way through the holes in my mittens. It’s like the old people at least kind of relate to my plight and want to warm me up. It’s nice.

choke dip

All Artichoke-d Up Dip

(from Epicurious)

Makes enough dip for a small (5-7 person) potluck. I’d definitely suggest doubling it if the potluck is sizeable.

  • 14-to-16 ounce can whole artichoke hearts, rinsed well, drained, and patted dry
  • 1/4 cup olive oil
  • 1 garlic clove, minced and mashed to a paste with 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 cup brine-cured green olives, pitted and chopped
  • 3 tablespoons fresh parsley leaves, finely chopped
  • Fresh parsley sprigs, for garnish
  • 2 medium fennel bulbs (sometimes called anise), stalks trimmed flush with bulbs and bulbs cut lengthwise into strips or triangles, for dipping
  1. In a food processor purée artichoke hearts with oil until very smooth, about 2 minutes.
  2. Transfer purée to a bowl and stir in garlic paste, olives, and salt and pepper to taste.
  3. Chill dip, covered, at least 4 hours and up to 24 hours. Stir chopped parsley into dip and garnish with parsley sprigs.
  4. Serve dip with fennel.
Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on December 29, 2012 by in Appetizer & Noms, Quick And Easy, Vegan, Vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , .

Popular Recipes

Enter your email address to get the latest recipes delivered fresh to your inbox.

Connect with me!

