Oh My Potluck!

Good recipes to share with friends.

Beyond the Black Bean Casser-Olé (Virtual Vegan Potluck Party Recipe)

Here is a super easy and budget-wise recipe that even I was able to pull off while on crutches. Granted, I had to seriously call upon my yoga practice to provide me with the needed balance getting the few pound casserole in and out of the oven. Not to mention this probably took me at least twice as long as it would take a spryer bodied person to make it.

I’m usually not a big fan of using canned vegetables and such. I’ve done this recipe with fresh ingredients and it still turns out quite well. It’s really important to keep all the tomato juices if this is your plan of action. The complete DIY approach allows you to keep the sodium down so if that’s a dietary consideration for your potluck then it might be worth sacrificing the time.

If you recall a month or so ago I made some pitas that reminded me of galaxies. Well, it’s happened again. I had the above picture sitting on my desktop as I prepared to write this entry and every time I saw it I thought it was a galaxy. Of course, I couldn’t remember saving a picture of a galaxy to my computer recently (this is something I am known to do on an infrequent basis). I asked the reverse Google image search to see if it agreed with me. It said, “no, that is a sports field or swimming pool.” We all see things differently.

I guess since we’re still exploring this seemingly infinite universe of ours, anything could look like a galaxy if you squint enough. Look at Galaxy Zoo and the My Galaxies font!  If you haven’t written your name in galaxies yet, you haven’t lived.  You should probably click that link, really. And, can we just talk about the “O” there? The one in “POTLUCK” totally looks like the unmixed casserole. You know, if you tilt your head and squint some more… Yeah.

Anywho…. This is actually a really special post as it’s part of the Virtual Vegan Potluck that I found out about from Somer on her Vedged Out blog. I’m super stoked to be taking part. Now, just a word of warning – I don’t only post vegan food, although I do post a lot of it. Vegan food is great for potlucks. If you’re a regular Oh My Potluck follower then I encourage you to check out at least some of the 105 bloggers taking part, from 14 countries (that’s a good chunk of the universe, right? It all ties together now). If you visited from the potluck, then welcome. I hope you can find some other great recipes on my blog.

For all the guests I’ve put together a “my favourite music” playlist for listening pleasure whilst you cook. Admittedly, you’ll be listening to most of wait while the dish is in the oven.


Watch above or on Youtube.

Beyond the Black Bean Casser-Olé

(Found on Astray)

Makes about 6 main dishes but can work for 10-15 people if served in smaller portions.

  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 1 cup white onion, diced
  • 3/4 cup yellow cornmeal
  • 2 teaspoons chili powder
  • 1 1/4 cup rice milk
  • 1 14 ounce can black beans
  • 1 14 ounce can kernel corn
  • 1 28 ounce can diced tomatoes, with juice
  • 1 4 ounce can chopped green chilis, drained
  1. Preheat oven to 350ᴼF.
  2. Combine all the ingredients in a 9″ x 13″ casserole dish. Stir well.
  3. Cook for 45 minutes. Cool on wire rack for half an hour. Cover and bring to potluck. It can be served at room temperature but it would be best to re-heat in the oven for 15-20 minutes.’
27 comments on “Beyond the Black Bean Casser-Olé (Virtual Vegan Potluck Party Recipe)

  1. trueindigo
    November 1, 2012

    So much vegan goodness coming together in one hearty caserOlé!

    • kahht
      November 1, 2012

      All the vegan food groups – a fiesta for your mouth!

  2. shellywest
    November 1, 2012

    I love all the hand drawn photos on your site! Gorgeous!

    • kahht
      November 1, 2012

      I love all the photos on your site! It has such a nice, warm cabin feel. Very cute!!!

  3. An Unrefined Vegan
    November 1, 2012

    Thanks for coming along for the ride! Even if you had to be on crutches ;-). Hope you’ll join us for the next one, too.

  4. Food Stories
    November 1, 2012

    Just making my way through the VVP & wanted to say hey 🙂

    • kahht
      November 1, 2012

      Why hello! I love your blog, it’s so informative. I’ll never go without a day of food to celebrate ever again.

  5. A Tablespoon of Liz
    November 2, 2012

    yum, this looks so good! I don’t make casseroles that often, and I don’t know why. They’re so easy and delicious!

    • kahht
      November 2, 2012

      Liz, I don’t make casseroles nearly as much as I should either. They’re really the best thing for potlucks but when I’m cooking for myself I opt for more fancy and fresh things. Casserole revival!!!

  6. Tiffany
    November 2, 2012

    Yum! 🙂

  7. Brittany
    November 2, 2012

    This looks amazing, super filling and hearty! YUM!

  8. Somer
    November 2, 2012

    I could totally get down with this casserole, so easy delicious and filling all at the same time! Oh and thanks so much for updating the title of this post and for being part of the potluck! xx

    • kahht
      November 3, 2012

      Thanks for posting about the potluck, if it wasn’t for that I’d have never heard about it.

      • Somer
        November 3, 2012

        No worries! I hope you’ll be back for the next round, which will probably be May 2013!

  9. thecrueltyfreereview
    November 3, 2012

    Another great one-dish meal. Perfect for a potluck!

    • kahht
      November 3, 2012

      Yeah… gotta love minimal clean up 🙂

  10. Sophie33
    November 3, 2012

    This is such & tasty & very colourful good for you vegan casserole!! Ooh yes!
    MMMMM,..;too!I also joined the VVP & loved it so much! 🙂

    • kahht
      November 3, 2012

      The VVP is such a good idea. I’ve found so many great recipes and new blogs.

  11. annesturetucker
    November 6, 2012

    Fantastic – love it! Thank you 🙂

    • kahht
      November 7, 2012

      You’re very welcome.

  12. spinachrevolution
    November 7, 2012

    Great dish. Easy to make and all the ingredients are easily available, everywhere in the world. Thank you for the great recipe.

    • kahht
      November 7, 2012

      You’ve got to keep these kinds of recipes around for those last-minute dinner emergencies. You’re right, easy to make and readily available! Also, pretty darn cheap if you’re on a budget. I like that you can also opt for fresh ingredients if you’re inclined to be de-kernel-ing corn that is.

  13. My Plant Based Family
    November 10, 2012

    I just made somthing similar and we all loved it. I prefer to use fresh ingredients but it is so nice to know you can throw something together with basic pantry staples. Thanks

    • kahht
      November 10, 2012

      I’m a proponent of freshness too! As soon as I’m back on both feet I’ll be able to spend more time on my feet chopping. I can’t wait.

  14. Diana
    October 2, 2013

    Hi, Looks great and easy! Did you drain the liquid out the corn and beans?

    • kahht
      October 2, 2013

      Yes, you do want to drain the liquid out of the corn, beans and green chilis. You need a little bit of liquid for the cornmeal but the milk and juice from the tomatoes are just enough.

  15. Pingback: Chickpea Crossing the Road Casserole | Oh My Potluck!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 31, 2012 by in Budget, Main Dish, Quick And Easy, Vegan, Vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , , .

Popular Recipes

Enter your email address to get the latest recipes delivered fresh to your inbox.

Connect with me!

