Oh My Potluck!

Good recipes to share with friends.

Tots and Leeks Comfort Casserole

Another original invention chez Kat. This one came about after finding these really cool red potatoes at the farmers market. What makes them cool? Mostly their deformities and the slight hints of yellow in the skin. They are super tasty as well. Because it’s autumn I decided to use some leeks as the pairing, there were plenty of those at the market. If you’re the DIY sort I recommend saving the green parts of the leek to make veggie broth. If you’re into that sort of thing.

This casserole comes with an absolutely fantastic story, of sorts. I took this dish out of the oven to cool then promptly went outside and got hit by a car. No kidding. I’m in the hospital right now typing this. I ended up getting a broken ankle and will need to be in a cast for six weeks. This is my first broken bone and my first cast. It might leave me out of the blogosphere for a little bit, but we’ll see.

Instead of me taking this dish to a potluck it came to me in my hospital bed just before midnight. It’s a hit-the-spot comfort food for sure.

I think it would be great to put some onions on top for decoration with some parmesan sprinkled over. This is where I’d usually redo this recipe to ensure it meets top quality potluck standards but as I said I’m immobile for a few weeks and I doubt I’ll be able to give it a go. Have at it, let me know if it works and take a picture for me.

For the playlist I dug up some good comfort music. It’s nice and long so you can start it while you’re chopping and slicing and let it play out until you put it in the oven. As much as I am a proponent  of some good dancing moods being infused into cooking I can also appreciate the value of having some good, slow-cooking, wholesome flavour infused into the food from your good-lovin’ demeanor set by the music. Hopefully this playlist puts you in that spot. I know I listen to a lot of somber music so this probably isn’t everyone’s “feel-good” music but it makes me feel good and my ankle is broken. So, there. (Just kidding, I think it’s  a great playlist however it makes you feel).


View here or on youtube.

Tots and Leeks Comfort Casserole

Makes 10 main dishes, or at least 15 smaller sides.

  • 1/2 cup olive oil
  • 12 red potatoes, thinly sliced (2 1/2 pounds)
  • 6 leeks, white parts only, sliced (about 2 1/2 cups)
  • 2 large shallots, sliced (about 1 cup)
  • 3-6 cloves garlic, minced (about 3 teaspoons)
  • 1 tablespoon dill weed
  • 3 cups ricotta cheese
  • 6 eggs
  • 2 1/2 cups whole milk
  • 1 1/2 cups fresh parmesan cheese, shredded (90 grams or 3 ounces)
  • 2 teaspoons salt, or to taste
  • 2 teaspoons fresh ground pepper
  1. Preheat the oven to 375°F. Grease a 5L casserole dish.
  2. In a large saucepan heat the olive oil over medium-high heat. Sauté the potatoes, leeks, shallots, garlic and dill until potatoes are just about soft and slightly browned. Pour into casserole dish.
  3. Mix the ricotta and eggs. Add the milk, parmesan cheese, salt and pepper. Stir until smooth and combined. Pour the ricotta mixture over the potatoes.
  4. Cook in oven for about 45 minutes. Remove from oven. Cool to room temperature before covering and storing for the potluck. You’ll need to give it another 15-20 minutes in the oven to rewarm it when you get to the potluck (be sure to check with the host that this is okay beforehand).
One comment on “Tots and Leeks Comfort Casserole

  1. Sophie33
    December 2, 2012

    MMMMM,…what a tasty dinner! Looks appetizing too!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 13, 2012 by in Autumn, Casserole, Main Dish, Vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , .

Popular Recipes

Enter your email address to get the latest recipes delivered fresh to your inbox.

Connect with me!

