Oh My Potluck!

Good recipes to share with friends.

Corny Confetti Bread

I love getting fancy. You should see me DJing at weddings. It’s ridiculous. I wear the most ruffly and sequined dresses I can find. My love of fancy is probably why my cornbread is remarkably festive and full of stuff resulting in something that’s a bit sweet, spicy and savoury all at once. It could be simple (as could be my fashion at aforementioned weddings). Honestly, you don’t need to add the corn, red pepper or jalapeno. You don’t even need to make this in a cast-iron skillet. I just think it makes it awesome but the plainer version is very tasty, rest assured.

To me, cornbread says morning. As far as I can remember, I’ve been waking up early to make cornbread and dancing around in the kitchen at 7am in my nighty. I recommend it. The smell of cornbread in the morning is amazing, only outdone by cinnamon buns, but that’s a story for another day. If you do make this for a potluck I’ll warn you that it’s going to be hard to resist grabbing a hot slice, pouring some honey on it and scarfing it down with a cup of steamy earl grey. Mm mm mm.

I hope my soulful music mix makes the perfect accompaniment to cornbread prep. I’m DJing a wedding next weekend and they want some soul and jazz played during the dinner so I’ve been doing  a lot of moving and dancing recently while prepping my sets. It’s really a perfect fit listening to southern and Memphis soul. I always relate authentic cornbread to the southern states like Texas and Tennessee. Not to mention that nothing wakes you up like some of Eddie Floyd’s “Big Bird” blaring from the speakers telling you to “get on up, big bird.” So. Good.


View here or on Youtube.

Corny Confetti Bread

Makes a 9″ round loaf, 8-12 pieces.

  • 1/2 cup unsalted butter
  • 2/3 cups sweet kernel corn (frozen or canned is fine)
  • 1/2 cup red pepper, chopped the size of corn kernels (about 1/2 a pepper)
  • 2 tablespoons jalapeno pepper, minced (about 1 pepper)
  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 cup yellow cornmeal
  • 2/3 cup white sugar
  • 5/8 teaspoons salt
  • 3 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 cup milk
  1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees F (200 degrees C).
  2. Melt butter in a 9 inch round cast iron skillet.*
  3. In a large bowl combine the flour, cornmeal, sugar, salt, baking powder, corn and peppers. Stir in egg, milk and 1/3 cup of the melted butter from the skillet until well combined. You should have 2-3 tablespoons of butter left in the skillet. Pour batter into the skillet.
  4. Bake for 20 to 25 minutes or until a toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean.
  5. Allow to cool, it’ll need a couple hours at least. Carefully turn onto a plate and cut into wedges. Cover and take to the potluck. Note: Making this in a cake pan will make it less crumbly and easier to transport.

* If you don’t have a skillet then use a 9″ round or 8″x8″ square cake pan and grease it with 2-3 tablespoons of the butter then melt the rest to finish the recipe.

One comment on “Corny Confetti Bread

  1. Pingback: Chili’s Up Your Spine « Oh My Potluck!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 29, 2012 by in Bread, Breakfast & Brunch, Vegetarian and tagged , , , , .

Popular Recipes

Enter your email address to get the latest recipes delivered fresh to your inbox.

Connect with me!

