Oh My Potluck!

Good recipes to share with friends.

Razzle Dazzle Chocolate Cheesecake

Honestly I must have gone completely crazy when I decided to make a cheesecake (actually a cheese-pie, because I don’t have a springform cake pan but that was the least of my issues). I liked cheesecake for a brief period in my pre-teen-hood and even then I only thought it was just alright. When I got older I couldn’t stand it. The cheesiness always got to me. However, raspberries are popping out of bushes quicker than sales after the holidays so I went on the search for a good raspberry dessert recipe and found this one. I’m used to making stuff that I don’t eat so I figured this one would just fall into that category as well.

When I finished scooping the filling over the crust I scraped the edges of the bowl and put the remaining filling on a digestive biscuit for my BFF to devour. There was still a little lick left on the spatula so I unconsciously finished it off. And: AMAZING. This is the cheesecake for cheesecake haters.

I brought the cheese-pie to work the next day and people were so freakin’ amazed they thought I’d put some magic substances into it. That’s when I knew it wasn’t just ordinary cheesecake I’d been missing my whole life, it was THIS cheesecake.

This is really my first attempt at the cheesecake but I suspect the secret lies in the heavy cream… or maybe the simplicity. Anyway, it’s all razzle and dazzle, as is the playlist to listen to while you mix and fix.

Watch here or on youtube.

Razzle Dazzle Chocolate Cheesecake

(From the BBC Good Food)

Makes 1 cheesecake (approximately 8 slices).

  • 12 digestive biscuits (about 1 cup when crushed)
  • 1/3 cup melted butter
  • 2/3 cup milk chocolate
  • 300g cream cheese
  • 3/4 cup heavy cream
  • 75g sugar
  • 150g raspberries (about 150g)
  • icing sugar, for dusting
  • chocolate melted, to serve (optional)
  1. Crush the digestive cookies finely with a heavy spoon or pestle, add the melted butter and mix well. Place in a 20cm springform pan or flan ring with a push-up base and pat down firmly with the back of a spoon.
  2. Melt the chocolate in a microwave for 1 1/2 minutes on medium power. Stir and put on for another 30 seconds if necessary (alternatively you can use a double boiler). Careful not to burn the chocolate. Mix the cream cheese, cream and sugar together until smooth. Add the raspberries and fold in gently, then add the melted chocolate and quickly swirl through.
  3. Spoon the cream cheese mixture into the prepared pan and smooth the top with a palette knife, then place in the fridge and chill for 2 hours. Serve dusted with icing sugar and a little melted chocolate if you like. Cover and take with you
Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 6, 2012 by in Cake, Chocolate, Summer, Sweets and tagged , , , , , , .

Popular Recipes

Enter your email address to get the latest recipes delivered fresh to your inbox.

Connect with me!

