Oh My Potluck!

Good recipes to share with friends.

Chili’s Up Your Spine

I usually bring out this recipe in the winter when all I want in, out and all around me is heat. This chili has a nice kick to it but won’t offend too many people at a party. Another plus side for big events is that it’s completely vegan! My BFF (an omnivore) swears it is better than most con carne chilis he’s tasted and I trust him on this. It’s still got the protein and the heat just ain’t getting it from meat. I love it and it came from our beloved Wookie Cookbook (serioiusly, you’re a nerd and you haven’t heard of this? Get out).

The Wookie Cookbook and it’s “pre-quel” Darth Malt and More Galactic Recipes are filled with a load of punnily named recipes honouring the world’s most popular movies ever created. I don’t think they’re officially George Lucas approved… but they do go great with Williams Sonoma’s line of Star Wars cooking supplies.

Whenever my BFF’s birthday rolls around I think of getting him some of these Williams Sonoma baking goodies. Then I remember that he hasn’t touched either of the Star Wars cookbooks I got him. Really, I think we can tell who I’m buying for – and the worst gifts are the ones you buy for yourself but wrap and give to your housemates. Bad form (twice). Oops.

Õ

I’ve tried several variations of this recipe. Usually I just play around with the crushed tomatoes. I’ve tried cans of diced tomatoes and pounds of hand-diced tomatoes (that really stings but it’s worth the fresh flavour). Honestly, I can vouch for all of them. I’ve also added various vegetables hence this variation on the recipe from the book.

Õ

No matter what I do this chili always gets better a day later when all the spices have had time to mingle with the beans. I suppose that makes it even better for potlucks. Mix it up the day before. Cool it down then bring it out in full force. Yum.

Õ

Sometime I’ll get around to posting this fabulous cornbread recipe I did up for some parties last year. I have some lovely stories for that one based around getting a beautiful cast iron frying pan for Christmas. Anyway, in the meantime go with some nice buns or biscuits and you’ll be set to serve.
Update: Here’s the corny confetti bread recipe to befriend your chili and your breakfast.


Watch here or watch on youtube.

The songs sandwiching this playlist together are absolutely killer summer jams. I start going crazy every time I hear them. It was probably around summer time last year that I heard Purity Ring’s song “Ungirthed” and lost my mind… then every single song of their’s that came out since was just building on this great, syncopated sound.
The last song just drives me nuts with it’s energy and honesty. It’s way more rock than the rest of the playlist but uses some synths and a really solid beat so I had to stick it in. I hope you like it for your chili makin’ kitchen time.

Chili’s Up Your Spine

(From the Star Wars Wookie Cookbook)
Serves at least 20 when supplemented with other food.

  • 1 15-ounce (425 grams) can kidney beans, drained and rinsed
  • 1 15-ounce (425 grams) can black beans, drained and rinsed
  • 1 15-ounce (425 grams) can garbanzo beans, drained and rinsed
  • 1 large onion, chopped (about 2 cups)
  • 1 large green pepper, chopped (about 1 1/2 cups)
  • 2 tablespoons vegetable oil
  • 2 tablespoons chili powder
  • 1/8 teaspoon cayenne pepper
  • 1 28-ounce (794 grams) can crushed tomatoes
  • 1 cup tomato juice
  • Salt and pepper to taste
  • Sharp cheddar cheese, shredded (optional)
  • Sour cream or plain yogurt (optional)
  1. Put the oil in a large saucepan (like, seriously big) and heat over medium-high heat. Add the chopped onion and green pepper. Sauté until tender, about 5 minutes.
  2. Add the chili powder and cayenne pepper and stir for 30 seconds.
  3. Add the beans, crushed tomatoes, and tomato juice. Stir well. Reduce heat to medium-low and simmer 15 minutes, stirring occasionally. Season to taste with salt and pepper.
  4. Allow to cool completely before putting a lid on and packing away. It’s best to bring this in the pot so you can quickly reheat it on the stove. Bring a nice serving bowl to transfer it to later. It’ll take about 15 minutes to reheat.
3 comments on “Chili’s Up Your Spine

  1. emmycooks
    October 11, 2012

    And now I want chili. Bring on the rain!

  2. emmycooks
    October 11, 2012

    ps I love your illustrations. 🙂

    • kahht
      October 12, 2012

      Why thank you! Your blog is getting my mouth watering quite a bit right now. I can’t wait to try some of the tasty dishes. So much good-lookin’ food!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 3, 2012 by in Main Dish, Quick And Easy, Soup, Stew & Chili, Vegan, Vegetarian, Winter and tagged , , , , , , , .

Popular Recipes

Enter your email address to get the latest recipes delivered fresh to your inbox.

Connect with me!

