Oh My Potluck!

Good recipes to share with friends.

Romping Slaw

The best cole slaw I’ve ever had was at an authentic Texas BBQ just outside of Austin. I must admit, even being vegetarian, I loved Texas BBQ, it has a boat load of charm and energy that even non meat eaters can get down with. Needless to say I couldn’t chomp on any of the meat offerings (brisket, ribs, sausage, turkey) but the potato salad and cole slaw I had were phenomenal. The thing that really tipped the cole slaw over the top was the sesame seeds and just the right amount of dressing (not too creamy, but not too cabbage heavy either).

I tried tracking down the recipe to my favourite slaw and found I wasn’t the only one wanting the secret. I found several reasonable attempts and finally, one hot summer day, I found the yummiest and closest approximation the internet has to offer, which I present to you here.

As far as pot lucks go, cole slaw makes an excellent side dish. It’s cold to begin with and it gets better if you give it a few hours to really mingle. You can toss it in your bag, go for a jog and it will still come out amazingly well.

Another amazing part of Texas is the old dance halls where romping country, lively folk and western swing bands play daily. They are some of the most magical venues I’ve ever seen. The open air wafts through as strangers share tables and tales over some icy Lone Stars or Shiners (my favourite). The dance floor is filled with tots barely able to walk and very elegantly dressed country lasses and their gentlemen. Given this Austin nostalgia kick I decided to bust out some music from the city. Okay, it’s not the stuff I saw played in the dance halls or at the BBQ but it’s all from Texas and some of my favourite bands.


Watch above or watch on youtube.

Romping Slaw

(from Coconut And Lime)

Makes about 20 side servings.

  • 1 head of cabbage, shredded
  • 8 medium to large carrots, peeled and shredded (about 1 1/2 cups)
  • 6 green onions, minced
  • 2 tablespoons toasted white or brown sesame seeds, plus more for garnish

Dressing:

  • 2/3 cup rice vinegar
  • 2 tablespoons sesame oil
  • 4 tablespoons freshly grated ginger
  • 1 pinch salt
  1. Combine the cabbage, carrots and onions in a large bowl.
  2. In a food processor blend the vinegar, ginger, oil and salt until smooth. Drizzle over the cabbage mixture. Add the toasted sesame seeds and toss to coat. Add more sesame seeds as desired
Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 30, 2012 by in Salad, Side Dish, Summer, Vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , , , , , .

Popular Recipes

Enter your email address to get the latest recipes delivered fresh to your inbox.

Connect with me!

