Oh My Potluck!

Good recipes to share with friends.

Party-Party Tabouli

Tabouli (or Tabbouleh) A nice cool salad works well on any hot day. That’s probably why it’s origin is in the Mediterranean. It’s so refreshing, quick and simple. Okay, if you’re my BFF you’re going to complain about chopping but this sucker will be done in less than half an hour and can be tossed and packed up within an hour. While you’re at it throw on some of my favourite old-school 80s goth tunes, the perfect compliment to anything Arab or Egyptian…


Watch above or watch on youtube.

I will confess something though. It took me a long time to warm up to the potent taste of parsley dominating a salad. I’m so used to the rather watered down (in comparison) flavour of romaine and even spinach that I wasn’t ready for something so aromatic. It was so weird to me. Eventually I began appreciating it more and more as a side to falafel wraps or roasted eggplant (mmmmm). So, as far as tabouli goes, this one certainly turns out pretty grain heavy. It’s easy to cater this to your taste. Feel free to double the amounts of non-couscous ingredients (tomatoes, chives, garlic, parsley, mint, lemon)

I experimented with two versions of this salad – one with couscous and another with bulgar. The latter is actually a more traditional style of tabouli but it was the first time I’d heard of it (I don’t know much though so don’t be shocked). They both turned out great although the bulgar one was a bit heavier so I opted to bring the lighter and fluffier couscous one to the party. I made the right choice. After bringing the bulgar one to work a couple days I noticed how it got a little sticky and sweaty if I left it out of the refrigerator whereas the couscous has a really nice staying together power – great for potluck.

Tabouli

Makes about 10 side servings

  • 3/4 cup water
  • 1 dash salt
  • 1/2 cup couscous
  • 1 cup roma tomatoes, deseeded and chopped fairly small (about 3 tomatoes)
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 1/4 cup chives, chopped
  • 1 cup fresh italian parsley, minced
  • 2 tablespoons fresh mint, minced
  • 1 tablespoon lemon juice (about half of 1 lemon)
  • 1/2 jalapeno pepper, de-seeded, finely chopped (optional)
  • salt and pepper to taste
  1. Bring the water and dash of salt to a boil. Add the couscous, remove from heat and let sit for 15 minutes then fluff with a fork.
  2. In a large bowl toss the couscous with the rest of the ingredients.
  3. Refrigerate overnight.
Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 11, 2012 by in Salad, Side Dish, Vegan, Vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , , .

Popular Recipes

Enter your email address to get the latest recipes delivered fresh to your inbox.

Connect with me!

