Oh My Potluck!

Good recipes to share with friends.

Twisted Zucchini-Banana Muffins

I’m pretty sure any muffin with vegetables is a trick. And no, it’s not halloween (although I did just watch the halloween episode of Freaks and Geeks). Okay, some people say it’s a cunning way to get kids and obstinate adults to eat vegetables. I think it’s a way to trick me into thinking I’m eating something healthy. I’m not sure either is completely true but these are darn good muffins.

I discovered vegetable based baking when I was very young. It was a tomato-soup cake with lots of spice. I imagine the recipe was lost a long time ago but it converted me. For a kid, it was a really simple recipe that involved condensed tomato soup (i.e. no grating of carrots or zucchini), some flour, baking soda, spices and probably some milk and eggs. Geez, I could just re-invent this thing right here. But that’s not what I’m going to do because I want muffins and not cake. This is breakfast I’m working on, not a birthday party for lycopersiconophists.

Although I’d suggest baking these the night before a breakfast potluck to allow proper cooling and containment without condensations (translation: let them cool completely before storing them) I love listening to shoegaze in the morning time. The fuzzy sounds of the guitars are the perfect accompaniment to the foggy dream-state experienced when waking up early to prepare food. Also, it’s been really foggy in the mornings recently to the point where I can’t see any of the buildings downtown from my patio window. That’s why this soundtrack for the muffins is (1) shoegaze based and (2) short.


Watch above or watch on youtube.

Twisted Zucchini Banana Muffins (or Loaf)

Makes 12 muffins, or 1 loaf.

  • 1 cup zucchini, grated
  • 1 cup over-ripe bananas, mashed (about 2 bananas)
  • 1/2 cup vegetable oil*
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 tablespoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon ground nutmeg
  • 1/2 tablespoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/8 teaspoon ground cloves
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 3/4 cup chopped walnuts, optional
* In an experiment I blindfolded my BFF and had him try muffins that had been made with oil versus apple sauce. I was shocked that the man who fries everything in a couple tablespoons of butter actually preferred the apple sauce. Personally, I like the oil ones better and took those into work…
  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Line 12 muffin cups with paper muffin liners
  2. Stir zucchini, bananas, oil, sugar, and vanilla together until well-blended.
  3. In a separate bowl sift together the remaining ingredients. Add the wet ingredients. With a large wooden spoon stir only 10-20 times until just mixed
  4. Scoop batter into prepared muffin tins  and bake for 30 minutes (50-60 minutes for the loaf version). Once done allow to cool completely
Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 3, 2012 by in Breakfast & Brunch and tagged , , , , , , .

Popular Recipes

Enter your email address to get the latest recipes delivered fresh to your inbox.

Connect with me!

